OHM PursuitMFD 2016

Rawash

New member
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi rawash,this is a wonderful tool,it lands,and docks everything I have tested it with,but one question,I am not great with vectors what would the Distance in XYZ be, stopped about 25 feet in front of the chosen dock,so in other words, how do I enter this in the Dis box?Thanks

In this case,the vector is only the 3 coordinates in 3D space of a point from a another point (used as reference).
X-term defines the lateral axis, Y-term the vertical axis and the Z-term the longitudinal axis.
Orbiter sign convention is + for right, up & fore (left-handed).
To check, you can use the visual helpers (ctrl+F9), coordinates axes.

To Position an object at 25feet (7.62meters) in front of the target dock (the vector origin), enter "0 0 7.62" or "x0 y0 z7.62" in the input box (docking when the 2 docks are set).

details:
In the case of trim alignment, the 2 points to be considered to define the vector are the Center of Gravity of each vessel. So, enters '0 0 7.62' will position the target vessel Cog at 25feet from the focus vessel CoG (it could be inside the vessel!). The vector origin is not the same that in the case above.


Thx.
Rawash.
 
Last edited:

cslevine

New member
Joined
Feb 23, 2009
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Points
0
this MFD requires C++ 2010 runtine :
it should be mentioned, because if not, this doen't work and let the message :
"VCR100.dll not found"
 

Cras

Spring of Life!
Donator
Joined
Apr 13, 2011
Messages
2,215
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Los Angeles
Website
www.youtube.com
So I know that this MFD suspends its active mode when time acceleration is greater than 100x.

I am wondering if this could be made adjustable....or even toggle able.

I ask because there are times when I want to time skip at a faster clip, and I had no issue on my machine of Attitude MFD 3 being able to hold the attitude at a few steps higher. Of course it still had limits and if one is reckless, it wont be long before the ship is spinning like a tilt-a-whirl and the RCS tank is dry.
 

Cras

Spring of Life!
Donator
Joined
Apr 13, 2011
Messages
2,215
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Los Angeles
Website
www.youtube.com
I pretty much now use this in place of the old Attitude 3, and in doing that I have had some time to spot a few things.

First off, this add-on is great. And thanks for putting the RPM and TOR functions back in.


With that said, in the velocity program, the reference button. I press this and it is a CTD, everytime. When I am flying to the Moon, I often like to keep the ship under attitude control, and even when it is not, or I just have it in a bbq role or something, I still have it open. I find that it stays in reference of the body I am departing from. So when I get to the moon, it will still use Earth as a reference for the velocity vector, and thus things are not quite right. If I press the Ref button to change the reference, CTD.

Setting a target in velocity mode...I am not at all sure what this does. I can do this and then activate Follow mode, but nothing happens. I am not sure what this function is doing, and no mention of it in the readme.

The autoland, how exactly do I use this with say..the XR-2? Do I want it at first set to use the main engines and then switch over to hover after the descent insertion?
 

rrichard

New member
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Fairfax
Nice MFD Nice Name

As a happy user of Attitude MFD I was very pleased to see the Landing Autopilot in Pursuit MFD and it's potential for a Mars Landing. I was able to make a "sucessful" Mars Landing with my DGIV but using only the main engine and the landing was in the tail sitter position. The autopilot was unable to find a hover engine solution. After many attempts I must ask for help in getting the autopilot to land normally on Mars using the hover engine. I hope it is possible because a Mars landing is a tough cookie...
 

Cras

Spring of Life!
Donator
Joined
Apr 13, 2011
Messages
2,215
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Los Angeles
Website
www.youtube.com
You need to have the right engine selected. Make sure the main engine is selected and it will put you down using hovers. You might need to force open the hover door to make sure Pursuit MFD can see them.

I have used the landing autopilot a few times with the XR-2 on the Moon. Not the same thing, but it does work with hover engines.
 

rrichard

New member
Joined
Jun 12, 2008
Messages
13
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Fairfax
Mars Autolanding

Thank you Cras for the solution! I changed the hover engine switch on the DGIV from Auto to Open and PursuitMFD was able to perform a smooth as silk landing on Mars. I guess I was afraid to "fully" open the hover doors on reentry but I should have recognized the significant slowdown before really getting into the Mars' atmosphere. Now that I have finally dropped off the DGIV crew on Mars ALIVE, I can attempt to bring the Arrow back to Earth Orbit.
 

romanasul

Member
Joined
May 5, 2012
Messages
301
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Toronto
Hello, I'm using the constellation addon by 4throck: [ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=6787"]Constellation Program[/ame] and Orbiter ctd's whenever I try to open Pursuit MFD with the Altair Lander. Here's the Orbiter log but it doesn't show anything wrong.

HTML:
**** Orbiter.log
Build Aug 30 2010 [v.100830]
Timer precision: 3.01175e-007 sec
Found 1 joystick(s)
Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module EnergyConfigurator.dll  [Build ******, API 060425]
Module ScnEditor.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module D3D9Client.dll ........ [Build 150111, API 100830]
Module OrbiterSound.dll ...... [Build 121120, API 100830]
Module BaseSyncMFD.dll ....... [Build 100616, API 100603]
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> WARNING: Obsolete API function used: oapiRegisterMFDMode
At least one active module is accessing an obsolete interface function.
Addons which rely on obsolete functions may not be compatible with
future versions of Orbiter.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Module BurnTimeMFD.dll ....... [Build 140205, API 100830]
Module DVToolsMFD.dll ........ [Build 120331, API 100830]
Module GS2.dll ............... [Build 131201, API 100830]
Module IEATMFD.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module InterMFD55.dll ........ [Build 100826, API 100704]
Module Multistage2015_MFD.dll  [Build 151102, API 100830]
Module PursuitMFD.dll ........ [Build 121104, API 100830]
Module RendezvousMFD.dll ..... [Build ******, API 050206]
Module LaunchMFD.dll ......... [Build 150104, API 100830]
Module TransX2.dll ........... [Build 150926, API 100830]

**** Creating simulation session
D3D9Client: [DirectX 9 Initialized]
D3D9Client: Sytem has XNA math support
D3D9Client: [3DDevice Initialized]
D3D9Client: [Loading Stars]
D3D9Client: [Loading Constellations]
D3D9Client: [D3D9Client Initialized]
Joystick throttle: SLIDER 0
Joystick throttle control detected
Module Sun.dll ............... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1e-006, Terms 554/6634
Module Mercury.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1e-005, Terms 167/7123
Module Venus.dll ............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module VenusAtm2006.dll ...... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1e-005, Terms 79/1710
Module Earth.dll ............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module EarthAtmNRLMSISE00.dll  [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
Module Moon.dll .............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
ELP82: Precision 1e-005, Terms 116/829
Module Mars.dll .............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
MarsCristiapiAtm: correctly loaded and initialized.
VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1e-005, Terms 405/6400
Module Phobos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Deimos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Galsat.dll ............ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Jupiter.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1624/3625
Module Io.dll ................ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Europa.dll ............ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Ganymede.dll .......... [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Callisto.dll .......... [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Satsat.dll ............ [Build 100215, API 100212]
Module Saturn.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Saturn: Precision 1e-006, Terms 2904/6365
Module Mimas.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Mimas: Terms 113
Module Enceladus.dll ......... [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Enceladus: Terms 33
Module Tethys.dll ............ [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Tethys: Terms 101
Module Dione.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Dione: Terms 59
Module Rhea.dll .............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Rhea: Terms 68
Module Titan.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Titan: Terms 100
Module Iapetus.dll ........... [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Iapetus: Terms 605
Module Uranus.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Uranus: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1827/5269
Module Miranda.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Ariel.dll ............. [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Umbriel.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Titania.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Oberon.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Neptune.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Neptune: Precision 1e-006, Terms 391/2024
Finished initialising world
Module UCGODynamicCargo.dll .. [Build 131128, API 100830]
Finished initialising status
Finished initialising camera
Finished initialising panels
Finished setting up render state
D3D9Client: [Scene Initialized]
 

turtle91

New member
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
303
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I can confirm this.
It seems to be, that this MFD does not "like" some vessels.
I got CTD's with this vessels:

-Kulch's Tranzit-tug (uses customized RCS code to help with COG issues)
-UCGO ShuttleA (by Dan) (has "non standard" AUX trusters)
-Altair Lander (maybe...because we have two independent main-thrusters (descent/ascent) ?

As soon as I open the MFD, Orbiter gets a CTD...without any errors in the log.
Maybe related to vessels which are using customized engine-code for RCS and main/hover-thrusters ?...Just an idea...

Otherwise...this MFD is great. Really helpfull in many kind of situations.
 

Michael_Chr

New member
Joined
Jul 16, 2013
Messages
153
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Virklund
As turtle says...Any ship that has special coding ift. RCS will cause an imidiate CTD. So Pursuit is a NO GO with the ships as stated above to include all ships based on IMS.
 

boogabooga

Bug Crusher
Joined
Apr 16, 2011
Messages
3,002
Reaction score
0
Points
0
This really useful MFD is NOT working in Orbiter2016.
 

turtle91

New member
Joined
Nov 1, 2010
Messages
303
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Try this one.
I have re-compiled the dll for Orbiter 2016.
Also the the landing-mode takes the new elevation-modell into acount.
(Many thanks to ADSWNJ to teach me how to use MS-Visual Studio and to implement the new elevation-stuff)
I have tested landings at Brighton Beach and Olympus using XR2 and standard DG...all went fine so far.
I need to contact the author, if it's ok to re-relase the MFD at OH.
Please note, the bug with the REF-button (CTD) is still there.
I don't have much experience with C++.
HTH for the moment....
 

Attachments

Last edited:

CaptBlanc

New member
Joined
Jun 4, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I, too, am having CTD when attempting to use this with the SCI Hercules by IcarusAtHome. (Another ship that uses custom thrust design.) ... I crash if I activate the MFD from the ship...or if I am focused on another ship and try the remote button. So It's certainly the module connecting to the ship that causes the CTD. I am running Orbiter 2010-P1 ...and also, after uninstalling the PursuitMFD.dll, Orbiter will not launch untill I clear ALL my modules from the load list , run Orbiter, shutdown, then re-add the modules and run it again.
 

Rawash

New member
Joined
Mar 3, 2010
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Points
0
News

Hi Turtle91,
nice to keep dev alive. Keep on your work if you want.

I'm releasing today an update of the MFD for Orbiter 2016 with, of course, elevation terrain (and an updated version for Orbiter 2010 P1) .
There's some bug fixes but I didn't try everything extensively and I don't have much time to code, so be kind...
But I will look at this thread for support.

See you later.
 
Top