OFSS IV-discussion thread

Castor

New member
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
0
That should be possible without problems, you just have to write up an IMS config for it (use the already existing docking adapters in IMS as a start, all you have to change are the port positions, add an attachment point, and change the mesh).
I tried out your method, and the vessel spawns all right. But when I integrate the station, the docking port is just left out.
 

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
9,381
Reaction score
112
Points
153
Location
between the planets
I tried out your method, and the vessel spawns all right. But when I integrate the station, the docking port is just left out.

Then you simply forgot the PreserveDocks = i,j (indices of dockports to preserve) parameter. There's a reason why I said to look at the configs of already existing adapter modules ;)

Also, here's what exist in the terms of the config docummentation. It's not quite finished, and outdated here or there, but currently that's all there currently is.
 

Castor

New member
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Then you simply forgot the PreserveDocks = i,j (indices of dockports to preserve) parameter. There's a reason why I said to look at the configs of already existing adapter modules ;)
Sorry, I should have put it in clearer terms, I meant that the module does not get integrated into the station at all. And yes, I have the PreserveDocks statement.
 

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
9,381
Reaction score
112
Points
153
Location
between the planets
I meant that the module does not get integrated into the station at all.
Does it have an attachment point with proper ID?

You know what, just post the config here, this should be a really short fix.
 

Castor

New member
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
0
You know what, just post the config here, this should be a really short fix.
Code:
MeshName =DockingAdapterCBMtoSoyuz
Mass = 300
Size = 1.9
Inertia = 0.2 0.2 0.2

; === Docking ports ===
BEGIN_DOCKLIST
 0 0 -0.80   0  0 -1    0  1  0
 0 0 0.50    0  0 1    0  1  0
END_DOCKLIST

BEGIN_ATTACHMENT
P  0 0 -0.95    0  0 -1    0  1  0 IM
P 0 0 0 	0 0 1	1 0 0  XRCARGO
END_ATTACHMENT


ModuleType = Truss
PreserveDocks = 1


XRPayloadEnabled = true;
Description = IMS DG Docking Adapter
Dimensions = 2 2 2 
AttachmentPointIndex = 1
 

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
9,381
Reaction score
112
Points
153
Location
between the planets
P 0 0 -0.95 0 0 -1 0 1 0 IM
It's not aligned with the dock port propperly (which is at 0 0 -0.8). I'm not sure where exactly I built in the distance cut-off, but it's well possible that the attachment point isn't close enough to the receiving attachment point. anyways, things will look funny if the docking port and the attachment point aren't properly aligned, because then the position of the integrated module will be different from the position of the docked module...
 

ADSWNJ

Scientist
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,668
Reaction score
1
Points
38
Another doubt that just popped up in my mind (please forgive me if it's a stupid one) :

Should the missions be a single try sort of thing ? What I mean is that the if the pilot botches something up in the mission, he can either try and fix it or make an abort landing. In the latter case, future missions would attempt to resolve the problem.
Totally agree. The problem I was addressing is where you designate a flight to somebody, that then does not complete in a reasonable time, and gradually people lose interest in the project.

My suggestion is to have an "ensemble" of flights for a specific mission (to coin a meteorology models term), where the primary pilot's scenario is the master one if delivered in the time limit, else the reserved pilot, else take one of the ensembles.

This way - you can have reasonable certainty that the construction will complete inside a predictable time - e.g. worst case # missions times 10 days each.
 

ThaGuy

New member
Joined
Jan 7, 2014
Messages
31
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
50.9 -118.8
It's funny downloaded IMS weeks ago and have had great fun with it totally ignorant of what it can do,(I've been basically building a big piece of eye candy) I also use the Themis-A and HCLV exclusively with an orbital tug
I've been trying to build a seamless scenario consisting of approximately 12 launches with 16 payloads but keep getting a ctd when switching focus to the next launch vehicle.Am wasting time by trying this or must it be many separate scenarios?
 

Attachments

Castor

New member
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
0
It's not aligned with the dock port propperly (which is at 0 0 -0.8). I'm not sure where exactly I built in the distance cut-off, but it's well possible that the attachment point isn't close enough to the receiving attachment point. anyways, things will look funny if the docking port and the attachment point aren't properly aligned, because then the position of the integrated module will be different from the position of the docked module...
I still can't get the port to integrate with the rest of the station.
 

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
9,381
Reaction score
112
Points
153
Location
between the planets
I'll take a closer look when I get around to it. It really shouldn't be a problem, but I'm currently not familiar enough with things to figure out what it is without laying my hands on it. Rest assured however that it can be done, so you can count that module in. Just need to find a bit of quiet time to see what's wrong.

---------- Post added at 04:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:23 AM ----------

Ok, easy as pie. Kind of what I expected, but of course I couldn't verify without the actual mesh at hand.

The mesh is in reverse alignement, which means that what was dockport 0 was on the side where the soyuz is supposed to go. You could have integrated it if you docked it the other way around, but of course that's no use. So here's a config with the dockports defined in reverse order and the attachment point in the right place:

Code:
; ======================================
; Standard parameters
; ======================================
MeshName =DockingAdapterCBMtoSoyuz
Mass = 300
Size = 1.9
Inertia = 0.2 0.2 0.2

; === Docking ports ===
BEGIN_DOCKLIST
  0 0 0.50    0  0 1    0  1  0
  0 0 -0.80   0  0 -1    0  1  0
END_DOCKLIST

BEGIN_ATTACHMENT
P  0 0 0.50    0  0 1    0  1  0 IM
P 0 0 0 	0 0 1	1 0 0  XRCARGO
END_ATTACHMENT

; ======================================
; IMS specific parameters
; ======================================
ModuleType = Truss
PreserveDocks = 1

; ======================================
; XR Cargo Specifications
; ======================================
XRPayloadEnabled = true;
Description = IMS Soyuz Docking Adapter
Dimensions = 2 2 2 
AttachmentPointIndex = 1
 

Castor

New member
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Thanks a lot, jedidia !

---------------------------------------------------------------

Another doubt:

Should the CTV be launched with its usual Ariane combination or can we use the Themis-A ?

---------- Post added at 04:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:11 AM ----------

I have made a new mission plan now comprising of nine missions (excluding the manned ones), also incorporating some tug missions (as proposed by Loru) for those who would like a challenge. Hopefully, I can put up a mission summary soon. As for the timeline, I'm still working on it...:rolleyes:
 

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer
Moderator
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
5,477
Reaction score
9
Points
113
Location
Cleveland
For my own VSA I managed to put up an operable (but not nearly complete) station in 30 days (actually 35). But, I was using multiple launch sites (KSC, Sagan, and SRC Polygon).
Also using multiple vechicles (shuttle from KSC, Buran from SRC, Energia from Sagan, Jason/Eagle and Orion from KSC (different launchpads, Jason/Eagle has it's own at CCAFB).
The reasoning for this was multiple crews at multiple sites for a high volume launch scedule early in the program. People weren't stepping over one another at KSC trying to do everything from one particular infrastructure.
 

Castor

New member
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
0
@ PhantomCruiser Earlier you mentioned some SSBB textures done by 4throck, but I can't find them anywhere. Could you please post a link to it ?
 

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer
Moderator
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
5,477
Reaction score
9
Points
113
Location
Cleveland
I've been looking for them myself. I thought they were in the IMS development thread but I can't seem to find it.

I've dug through parts of the screenshot thread, but there's a lot of posts to sift through.
 

Interceptor

Active member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,666
Reaction score
24
Points
38
Location
Michigan,Florida
Hello Castor,and PhantomCruiser,the pages you are looking for 4throcks IMS stuff is on page 383,384,and,385 of the screenshots page.
 
Last edited:

Castor

New member
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
0
The mission list is finalized, all the combinations have also been tested out. Now all that remains is the timings for the missions from launch to landing.

---------- Post added at 04:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:54 PM ----------

Just one more thing :

Should the CTV be launched with its usual Ariane combination or can we use the Themis-A ?
 
Last edited:

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer
Moderator
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
5,477
Reaction score
9
Points
113
Location
Cleveland
How does it look on the Themis? It was "built" for the Ariane, but if it looks right/works right on a Themis I don't see why it couldn't be used.
 

Castor

New member
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
0
How does it look on the Themis? It was "built" for the Ariane, but if it looks right/works right on a Themis I don't see why it couldn't be used.
It works out just fine, and the second stage of the rocket has just about enough delta-v to insert the craft into a 300x300 km orbit. No LES though.

---------- Post added May 14th, 2014 at 07:46 AM ---------- Previous post was May 13th, 2014 at 06:01 PM ----------

Here is a mission summary with a timeline. All times have been approximated only to a day so that launch windows are freely available.

Legend
1) GC : Latest time by which all goals must be completed
2) Launch : Time of launch
3) Landing : Time of landing. Landing must take place not earlier than the GC date and not later than this date.
4) Goal : SB stands for station building, CT stands for crew transfer
5) WIN : Wideawake International
6) CSSC : Carl Sagan Space Center
7) Basic skill : Minimum piloting skills required to undertake the mission

No code has to be inserted here.

Detailed information about mission payloads

Feedback is appreciated.:cheers:

---------- Post added at 05:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:46 AM ----------

Launching and landing sites updated.

---------- Post added May 15th, 2014 at 02:45 AM ---------- Previous post was May 14th, 2014 at 05:40 PM ----------

Since most of the preliminary planning is done, should I go ahead and start a new thread for a pilot roll call ?
 
Last edited:

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer
Moderator
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
Jan 23, 2009
Messages
5,477
Reaction score
9
Points
113
Location
Cleveland
I'd hold off until you have your matrix full populated. That way the pilot will know what is expected of him (construction, Pax/Pony, etc).

Additionally, the pilot would know his cargo manifest.

Pax/Pony = Personnel and material Pax=people, Pony is a throwback to the Pony Express
 
Top