Apollo 15: Lunar Ascent Preparation and RTCC Procedures?

Wedge313

Active member
Joined
Apr 18, 2020
Messages
393
Reaction score
95
Points
43
Location
Boston
I'm only seeing entry interface minus 17 minutes in the checklists for the check.
OK, I think my 2 watt light just came on. On page E 2-2, step 7 "Verify Horizon Check Attitude". I've been mistaking that for the actual check. All I should have done there was confirm the attitude, the horizon check is later (EI -17 as you point out). A case of RTFC (Read The effing Checklist). So in this case once I'm at 000,152,000 approaching EI, that's my check. Thanks for clarifying that for me.

next time you fly a mission you can probably avoid using the MPT entirely, as I've already done some changes there.
I'm going to go over this re-entry a few more times, stuff happens so fast I couldn't really watch a lot of what was going on. But I'm really enjoying working with NASSP, I'll probably start another mission shortly (now that I've mastered the flight procedures and RTCC :ROFLMAO:). I never cease to be impressed with the quality of the simulation. Thanks again.
 

rcflyinghokie

LM Junky
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
465
Reaction score
225
Points
58
Location
Colorado
Glad to hear you are having fun and learning! You have a lot of options for a new RTCC mission. You could fly 16 and simulate the delayed PDI and subsequent time updates. You could fly 17 having to change the liftoff and launch azimuths. Flying 12 you would have to do a coeliptic rendezvous instead of a direct ascent. You of course can take 13 or 14 to Fra Mauro. So many choices ;)
 

Wedge313

Active member
Joined
Apr 18, 2020
Messages
393
Reaction score
95
Points
43
Location
Boston
I re-did the MCC-7 P30 uplink using retrofire, and yes I messed that up originally, as you promised everything went much better after inputting correct data (go figure). A few more questions that cropped up as I went through the re-entry....

On the Entry Checklist pg 1-5, with the system test meter in position 5B my BAT RLY BUS should be 3.4-4.1, I read zero. Am I incorrectly configured or does this not work yet in NASSP?

Concerning the RCS rings: The AOH pg 4-549 has us isolate system 2, with a caveat "omit for hybrid deorbit". On the Entry Checklist pg E1-5 after the RCS check it looks like we leave ring 1 in MNA and ring 2 in MNB, and I can't see where we would turn off ring 2. How was I supposed to correctly configure this?

Finally, approaching EI both FDAIs are showing the same attitude. But during the re-entry as the CM rolls around to control the lift vector, there's a difference between what's displayed on FDAI 1 and FDAI 2. The roll angle seems to be the same on both, but where FDAI 1 pitch and yaw oscillates, FDAI 2 pitch and yaw seems fixed. What's going on here?

Thanks again.
 

Attachments

  • Orbiter 2016 [D3D9Client] 2_16_2022 7_18_19 AM.png
    Orbiter 2016 [D3D9Client] 2_16_2022 7_18_19 AM.png
    694 KB · Views: 47
  • Orbiter 2016 [D3D9Client] 2_16_2022 7_17_10 AM.png
    Orbiter 2016 [D3D9Client] 2_16_2022 7_17_10 AM.png
    692 KB · Views: 47

rcflyinghokie

LM Junky
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
465
Reaction score
225
Points
58
Location
Colorado
On the Entry Checklist pg 1-5, with the system test meter in position 5B my BAT RLY BUS should be 3.4-4.1, I read zero. Am I incorrectly configured or does this not work yet in NASSP?
I dont think the relay bus is wired to the systems test meter yet, so zero sounds correct for the time being. I also need to check and see if the relay bus voltage position changed mission to mission like some things on the test meter did.

Concerning the RCS rings: The AOH pg 4-549 has us isolate system 2, with a caveat "omit for hybrid deorbit". On the Entry Checklist pg E1-5 after the RCS check it looks like we leave ring 1 in MNA and ring 2 in MNB, and I can't see where we would turn off ring 2. How was I supposed to correctly configure this?
There were a few ways to do this throughout the missions. Leaving 2 rings on of course didn't hurt anything but using just 1 ring gave finer control. Earlier missions would use only the AUTO RCS switches and choose ring 1 or 2 on MNA or MNB. Another method used to more swiftly isolate the rings was to configure the AUTO RCS switches to have ring 1 on MNA and 2 on MNB and then use the SCS breakers on panel 8 and pull the roll/pitch/yaw circuit breaker for either MNA or MNB. So instead of flipping 12 switches, you could use a few circuit breakers.

For 15, you can of course use 1 or both rings, but the method of isolation would be the cbs and not switches. For example, in that configuration with ring 1 on MNA and 2 on MN B, and you wanted to use ring 1, you would pull the SCS B/D Roll, Pitch, and Yaw MNB cbs (see attached.)

Finally, approaching EI both FDAIs are showing the same attitude. But during the re-entry as the CM rolls around to control the lift vector, there's a difference between what's displayed on FDAI 1 and FDAI 2. The roll angle seems to be the same on both, but where FDAI 1 pitch and yaw oscillates, FDAI 2 pitch and yaw seems fixed. What's going on here?
This is normal, since the GDC is running that FDAI, at 0.05g only roll is displayed with respect to the roll stability axis of the spacecraft. This makes it easier to fly backup entries and monitor the spacecraft's lift vector and beta. Seems you have the AOH out, check out the GDC section it explains this a bit more pg 2.3.14
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-02-16 070803.jpg
    Screenshot 2022-02-16 070803.jpg
    175.1 KB · Views: 42

indy91

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
1,169
Reaction score
474
Points
98
I dont think the relay bus is wired to the systems test meter yet, so zero sounds correct for the time being. I also need to check and see if the relay bus voltage position changed mission to mission like some things on the test meter did.

It is mission specific. They changed it from 4B to 5B for the J-type missions, so we have it on 4B in NASSP and it is simulated. We just don't have a mission specific system test meter yet.
 

rcflyinghokie

LM Junky
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
465
Reaction score
225
Points
58
Location
Colorado
It is mission specific. They changed it from 4B to 5B for the J-type missions, so we have it on 4B in NASSP and it is simulated. We just don't have a mission specific system test meter yet.
Ah ok makes sense, I assumed one or the other :)
 
Top