General Question Starting out with Orbiter SDK

boogabooga

Bug Crusher
Reaction score
I'm interested in developing a module for Orbiter. As I have some experience coding in JAVA (which I greatly enjoyed), I figure there is no excuse for me to not learn to develop for Orbiter.

However, I have some questions trying to get over the initial hurdles.

I've checked out the developer resources, but they seem to be a little outdated. I understand that I need some form of Visual Studio and/or Visual C++. I've downloaded Visual Studio "Community" 2013: http://www.visualstudio.com/en-us/products/visual-studio-community-vs

This seems to be the current "Free developer tool." However, I see a lot of references to various "Express" versions of Visual Studio on the forum, so I am wondering how I would know if "Community" is going to work.

Edit: I see now that Community is an, er, enhanced version of Express. But perhaps a bit like learning to drive in a Porsce...

While I do have coding experience, I don't have much in the neighborhood of development (working with an SDK, including needed libraries, debugging, etc.) so any additional starting advice would be appreciated.

Is the advice in this video still relevant: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VBRLkN__YIo
Edit: For example, I'm trying to get the debugging command to Orbiter.exe, but the procedure does not seem to be the same in 2013 Community. Is there something analogous that I need to do? Is this the kind of thing that the "property sheets" are for?

Is this tutorial still relavant: [ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=4159"]MFD Wizard for Visual Studio[/ame]
??

Another question, would other IDEs work, such as the C++ version of eclipse: https://www.eclipse.org/downloads/packages/eclipse-ide-cc-developers/lunasr2

It seems that Visual Studio wants me to obtain a "developer license" for Windows 8.1. Is this something that others have had to obtain?

Last edited:

Blake

Addon Developer
Addon Developer