Flight Question DG De-orbit Profile

Shifty

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
Hello, I'm a total Orbiter newbie; been playing about a week. I worked my way through parts of Go Play In Space! (all except lunar and Mars transfer) and am now working on the checklist scenarios from the Orbiter manual with the stock Delta Glider. I did checklist 1 (launch from KSC, rendezvous and dock with ISS) no problem. Likewise checklist 2 (transfer from ISS to Mir, rendezvous and dock.) But I'm having problems with checklist 3: de-orbit and land at KSC.

I do the de-orbit burn and end up about 4000km from KSC at 100km altitude during the descent, just like the checklist says. But I can't seem to extend my glideslope all the way to KSC. I always seem to lose all my airspeed and have to touch down somewhere in the Central American flatlands. I've tried 4-5 times and keep coming up short. The checklist suggests that I'll have to do banks to bleed off speed, but when I do that I come up even shorter. Is there a descent profile, with suggested AOA, rate of descent, etc that I can follow; the checklist is surprisingly sparse on this point.

I apologize if this question has been addressed before.

Thanks in advance for the assistance!

MaverickSawyer

Acolyte of the Probe
Reaction score
The odd thing about the stock DG is the fact that it doesn't allow a high AOA reentry. You have to do multiple skips into and back out of the atmosphere. It's driven me crazy for years, and I've never found a good answer to this issue. :shrug:

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer
Tutorial Publisher
Reaction score
Keep and eye on SurfaceMFD to watch your vertical speed and velocity. There is a balance point that you can find, but it takes practice. Map MFD can give you an idea where you'd plow into the ground with no input changes, so you can use it to keep the "end of the line" near KSC.