OHM X-Pointer MFD for Orbiter 2016

OrbitHangar

Addon Comments
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
3,835
Reaction score
3
Points
0

Author: hlynkacg

This is a dual-mode MFD that mimics the functionality of the "X-Pointer" and "Range/Rate" instruments which were used by the Apollo astronauts to guide the Lunar Module during Landing and Rendezvous.

While in "Landing/Hover" mode the MFD displays the your height above terrain, and it's rate of change as text at the top of the screen, while the instrument shows you your forward and lateral motion or "Slip" relative to the ground.

While in "Rendezvous" mode the MFD displays range to your target, your range rate, and the target’s elevation/azimuth are displayed as text. The target's bearing and azimuth rate are shown on the instrument itself. Rendezvous is accomplished by keeping the bearing and azimuth rates as close to 0 as possible while maintaining a negative range rate

Instructions for using the MFD to perform an Apollo-style rendezvous are included along with a scenario illsutrating the method using stock vessels.

Update 06/21/2016: The visual studio solution has been cleaned up, signifigantly reducing the overall file size, and an additional .dll has been added that will allow the MFD to be used in Orbiter 2010.

Special thanks to Face for doing the back-port.



DOWNLOAD
 

T1234

New member
Joined
Jan 14, 2012
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
Points
0
It dous not show in sel MFD screen,What component am I missing?
 

jgrillo2002

Conservative Pioneer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
737
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Location
New York State
Face is correct with that question. If you are using Orbiter 2010. It will not work, because it was designed for the new beta version. Though I wish he made a 2010 version as most of us use that version alone
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,832
Reaction score
86
Points
123
Location
Cape
The SSU needs one too.
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
8,869
Reaction score
199
Points
153
The SSU needs one too.
It's already implemented, if you get the latest version from SVN. It's implemented as part of the Ku band Rendezvous Radar.
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,956
Reaction score
179
Points
78
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
There must be some redundant stuff into this addon's Orbitersdk folder, which is more than 40Mb.
 

T1234

New member
Joined
Jan 14, 2012
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Im using orbiter beta and have it ticked in modules.
 

Face

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,183
Reaction score
124
Points
88
Location
Vienna
Im using orbiter beta and have it ticked in modules.

Then it would be interesting to hear what revision of the beta you are using.
 

Hlynkacg

Aspiring rocket scientist
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
1,873
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
San Diego
Do you have any other MFDs ticked?

Does it appear if you select the X-Pointer and then deselect all other custom MFDs? I'm just trying to eliminate the possibility that it's might be conflicting with another addon.
 

Face

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,183
Reaction score
124
Points
88
Location
Vienna
Using latest R55.

I've just tried a clean checkout of R55 and installed the MFD. Works for me. I've tried the included scenario (with the mode already activated to the right) and also a stock scenario. In the later I used the SEL screen to activate it in all 3 modes (glass, 2D, VC). It appears as next to last entry (last slot is empty) with "P" as activator key.

Maybe you have some other addons installed that block it somehow? What is your SEL screen showing?
 

Hlynkacg

Aspiring rocket scientist
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
1,873
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
San Diego
Update 06/21/2016:

The visual studio solution has been cleaned up, significantly reducing the overall file size, and an additional .dll has been added that will allow the MFD to be used in Orbiter 2010.

Special thanks to Face for doing the back-port. :tiphat:

Edit: ...and I just noticed that I misspelled "significantly".
 

T1234

New member
Joined
Jan 14, 2012
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I have unticked outher modules but still no luck. Do I need certain C++ runtimes?.
 

Hlynkacg

Aspiring rocket scientist
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
1,873
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
San Diego
Does the demo scenario show up in your scenario folder?
 

T1234

New member
Joined
Jan 14, 2012
Messages
220
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Yes, and have tried to select MFD in other scenarios and ships.
 

Hlynkacg

Aspiring rocket scientist
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
1,873
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
San Diego
There should be no special run times required.

Does the MFD come up in the demo scenario? If not can you try downloading the updated zip and see if the 2010 back port shows up? I'm sorry but I'm kind of at a loss here.
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,956
Reaction score
179
Points
78
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
In Orbiter2010-P1 (with and without latest D3D9), and in plain Orbiter2016 rev 55 (no D3D9) your MFD displays some trailing squares after the figures:



In Orbiter2016 rev 55 with latest D3D9, it displays correctly.
Screenshot taken from your demo scenario.

Edit: sorry, I should've mentioned I'm (still) running XP.
 
Last edited:

Hlynkacg

Aspiring rocket scientist
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Dec 27, 2010
Messages
1,873
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
San Diego
...your MFD displays some trailing squares.

Thanks, I'll look into that.

Aside from that, how's it working? were you able to rendezvous without the HUD / other tools?
 
Top