OHM WindowTack

OrbitHangar

Addon Comments
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
3,834
Reaction score
9
Points
0

Author: rstarkov

WindowTack saves and restores the positions of various Orbiter windows. Every time you move a window, WindowTack saves its position. Next time you open it, WindowTack will move the window to its last saved position.

Some examples of windows saved and restored by WindowTack:

  • main render window in “windowed” mode;
  • main menu (F4);
  • ship selection window (F3);
  • Launchpad (not really relevant in 2010 now that the Launchpad always restores its own position)
Tested to work with Orbiter 2006 P1 and Orbiter 2010.

New in v003:
  • Saves and restores positions of all Orbiter windows, not just the main one.
  • CRT is statically linked, so vcredist is no longer required.
  • Pretty documentation PDF


DOWNLOAD
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,417
Reaction score
14
Points
113
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
Very useful, I run orbiter in windowed mode and have had the window "wander" when restarting it. This will be really useful to stop that.
 

Xyon

Puts the Fun in Dysfunctional
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Webmaster
GFX Staff
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Aug 9, 2009
Messages
6,699
Reaction score
212
Points
153
Location
10.0.0.1
Website
www.orbiter-radio.co.uk
Likewise. A very useful and well-thought-out addition.
 

rstarkov

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Cambridge, UK
Thanks for the feedback, appreciated!

I forgot to mention that the "loading" screen will still appear randomly as it always does, since the plugin only receives the window handle after loading is complete.
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,417
Reaction score
14
Points
113
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
Any chance this addon can record the positions of external MFD's and restore those as well?
 

rstarkov

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Cambridge, UK
I'll give it a shot, though I have a feeling I won't be able to make that work reliably. But if it does then it'll probably also work for all other Orbiter windows too.

I don't tend to use the external MFDs because they cause serious framerate issues on my machine for some reason (though it's quite respectable, Q6600 / HD 5700)
 

MattDecker

New member
Joined
Feb 5, 2010
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
This is great. I have Orbiter set to a window that fills the entire screen, except for the task bar. And every time I start it I had to move the window up. Boy that was annoying.
 

rstarkov

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Cambridge, UK
WindowTack v003

Any chance this addon can record the positions of external MFD's and restore those as well?

I tried, but unfortunately this only works for a single external MFD. Also, the size is not saved; only the position.

But, as a side-effect of this effort, all other windows' positions are now saved and restored in v003 of WindowTack :)

If anyone has ideas as to how to distinguish two different external MFD windows given their HWNDs please share them. This needs to work across Orbiter restarts of course, so a permanent property is required. I have to say though, it should really be ExtMFD doing this. I don't suppose the sources are available?

Currently WindowTack uses window size + window title to identify windows across restarts. This works for almost all Orbiter windows - even the Launchpad in Orbiter 2006 - but not external MFDs.

This version is slightly more intrusive than before, so use at your own risk. If you suspect WindowTack is to blame for a problem, you'll have to *restart Orbiter* after disabling the module. If it turns out that WindowTack is indeed to blame, please post!

Having said that, it works fine for me on Win7 64-bit, dual monitor, both in 2006 P1 and 2010, in full-screen and windowed modes.

Enjoy!

P.S. Not recommended if you have another window position manager - I seem to remember some NVidia cards (Quadro?) used to come with just such a feature enabled in the driver.
 

Hielor

Defender of Truth
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
5,632
Reaction score
2
Points
0
I have to say though, it should really be ExtMFD doing this. I don't suppose the sources are available?
Check the samples folder in the sdk :)
 

DG IV

New member
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Points
0
help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i downloaded your thing and know when ever i try to go into orbiter it keeps disepering:shrug::dry::uhh:
 

rstarkov

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Cambridge, UK
DG IV: You can fix this by going into YourOrbiterDir/Config and deleting the file named "WindowTack.ini".

Also, if you PM me the contents of this file, I'll check if there's anything unusual in there.
 
Top