Project Sun-tracking solar array module

T.Neo

SA 2010 Soccermaniac
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
6,377
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Just a simple, solar array that can be used for station building/etc.

Blue- solar arrays.
Magenta- solar array roll-up canisters.
Light blue- Solar array support structure.
Pink- Rotational joints.
Yellow- additional equipment.
Green- truss structure.
Red- unpressurised CBM port.



Anyone interested in coding such an addon can PM me for more details. :tiphat:
 
Last edited:

tblaxland

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Addon Developer
Webmaster
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
7,352
Reaction score
15
Points
113
Location
Sydney, Australia
You would benefit from some beta gimbals (between the light blue and magenta parts).
 

Wishbone

Clueless developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,421
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Location
Moscow
MBR ITS addon does exactly what you're planning now, without CBM, of course.
 

T.Neo

SA 2010 Soccermaniac
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
6,377
Reaction score
0
Points
0
You would benefit from some beta gimbals (between the light blue and magenta parts).

Yes... those are very important, I just have not modelled them yet. :p

MBR ITS addon does exactly what you're planning now, without CBM, of course.

Yes, but this is supposed to be easier on low-end machines... the MBR ITS panels fold out in an accordion-like manner, which is truthful to the arrays on the ISS, but takes up a lot of polys that you don't really need once the panels are deployed.
 

C3PO

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
2,597
Reaction score
5
Points
53
IDK if it's even possible, but can't you use one (more detailed) mesh for the deployment phase, and replace it with a simpler mesh once it's fully deployed?
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,416
Reaction score
14
Points
113
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
IDK if it's even possible, but can't you use one (more detailed) mesh for the deployment phase, and replace it with a simpler mesh once it's fully deployed?

I don't see why not, you'd have some sort of callback event that gets trigged when the animation is complete and you'd reference a different mesh - a bit like the process used when staging a rocket - you delete the original mesh and replace it.
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,262
Reaction score
101
Points
63
Location
Code 347
I don't see why not, you'd have some sort of callback event that gets trigged when the animation is complete and you'd reference a different mesh - a bit like the process used when staging a rocket - you delete the original mesh and replace it.
Yes, that really would be the best solution. The frame rate hit from the old MBR_ITS modules is barely tolerable on my old machine. But it is a bit of a nightmare to do (for the MBR_ITS), and I haven't seen Mustard around for ages.....so don't know if it ever will get done. So some panels that are easier on the frame rate is a good idea, I reckon.

Cheers,
Brian
 
Last edited:
Top