Project Space Transportation System 2016

pappy2

Active member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
397
Reaction score
29
Points
43
Hello everyone, hello "Tim13"

I will try to help you with the installation of STS2016.
Excuse my bad English.

I'm going to ask you several questions that will seem a little annoying to you, but I need to know your installation to understand your problem.

1) Have you installed Orbiter2016?
2) Have you installed ALL the addons mentioned in the "Read me" file in order?
3) Did you install D3D9 and did you create the simbolic link?
4) Have you selected the Modules correctly in the "Modules" tab of the Launchpad?

So in this case the scenarios for "STS2016" are located in:
Scenarios / Space Transportation System 2016

The other scenarios of the addons you installed may not work, it is normal some were created for another version of Orbiter and do not work with Orbiter2016.

Only the scenarios installed by our friend "GAttispilot" in "Space Transportation System 2016" work.
 

Tim13

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2018
Messages
117
Reaction score
17
Points
18
1) Have you installed Orbiter2016?
2) Have you installed ALL the addons mentioned in the "Read me" file in order?
3) Did you install D3D9 and did you create the simbolic link?
4) Have you selected the Modules correctly in the "Modules" tab of the Launchpad?
Yes to all of the above. The questions are not annoying at all, they are very valid. And no excuse needed for your english skills. Much respect for anyone that can speak/read more than one language.

So, it turns out my suspicion was correct. I use 7zip for my compressed files. It was creating a STS2016 file in my orbiter directory, instead of following the paths of the files inside the zip file. Once I bypassed the this issue, everything installed correctly. I tried several launch scenarios, and they all worked. I'll call it a big success, and yet another lesson in computer trouble shooting.

So the take away to anyone who searches on this topic and finds this thread, is to make sure the file paths from the zipped file are executed correctly by the software you use to unzip them. You may need to intervene.

Thanks again to everyone who chimed in to help.....much appreciated.

Regards,

Tim
 

pappy2

Active member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
397
Reaction score
29
Points
43
GREAT (y)

So now it's your turn to launch the space shuttle !!!!

And if there are any errors or problems do not hesitate to say so here on this forum ;)

Good Flights 🚀
 

Tim13

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2018
Messages
117
Reaction score
17
Points
18
@pappy2 Heck yeah, I loved the Shuttle Fleet back in the day. This re-boot is going to make a lot of orbinauts VERY happy.

I noticed a couple things on the few launches I tested. I need to do some more testing before I post about it.
 

CTarana45

Active member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
188
Reaction score
41
Points
28
00) (https://www.orbithangar.com/showAddon.php?id=205c96ba-c00e-4d28-af4f-908589979fa9) .. Camera MFD for CCTV ... (CameraMFD)=
01) (https://www.orbithangar.com/showAdd...293a96f0ec.............................(Notes MFD)=
02) (https://simviation.com/1/browse-Orbiter+Addons-142-1) .. Space Shuttle Fleet V4.8 Release 2 ................. (ShuttleFleetV4.8R2.zip)
03) (http://web.archive.org/web/20071016...angar.com/addons/STS_Payloads_version2.01.zip) ... (STS_Payloads_version2.01.zip)
04) (https://simviation.com/1/browse-Orbiter+Addons-142-0) .. STS Payloads Expansion Pack for Fleet V4.8 ......... (STSPayloads2010R0.zip)
05) (https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=4716) ...... STS-1 Payloads ..................................... (STS-1 Payloads.zip)
06) (https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=7036) ...... LC39A+B for ShuttleFLeet HD ........................ (LC39A-B_HD_ShuttleFleet-26-12-16.zip)
07) (https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=7029) ...... Shuttlefleet High detail ET and SRB's .............. (Shuttle-ET-update-V3.0.zip)
08) (https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=7233) ...... HST(EX) for Orbiter2016 ............................ (hst_ex_181117.zip)
09) (https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=6752) ...... STS-66 MISSION English ............................. (STS-66_Mission_en.zip)
10) (https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=6651) ...... CHANDRA-X and I.US. ................................ (CHANDRA-X_IUS_fr.zip)
11) (https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=5593) ...... Sunnyvale STS Missions ............................. (sunnyvale_sts_120208.zip)
12) (https://www.orbithangar.com/showAddon.php?id=4afe4441-faed-42c8-987c-f03b1bb4f9c8) .......................... (SpaceLAB_V3.zip)
13) (http://orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk/mirrors/orbiter_radio/tex_mirror.html) .. Addon scenery packs EDWADRS AFB .... (Antelope_scn.zip)

Fictional Scenarios
14) (https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=2784) ...... Moonraker-07 ....... (MoonRaker-07.zip)
15) (https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=3962) ...... Project Daedalus ... (Project Daedalus.zip)

All these addons need to installed into Orbiter2016, without the scenarios? I'm a little lost! I have NotesMFD already!

Thanks, John!

Christopher Tarana
 

pappy2

Active member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
397
Reaction score
29
Points
43
Hello "CTarana45"

So yes indeed you must install all these addons in order.
Some will overwrite files in the previous ones but that's okay, you have to do it.
Regarding the scenarios of the addons you can leave them, some work with Orbiter2016 and some not.
but the point of downloading all these addons is because their creators created payloads, LC39 HD PADs or whatever else that we need to make the "STS2016" scenarios work.

One thing not to forget as it is indicated in the "read me" is:

Take care during installation and follow the instructions below:

In Space Shuttle Fleet V4.8 Release 2 of "David413" on 20-04-2012 (ShuttleFleetV4.8R2.zip)

Do not install the file: Config / Earth.cfg

Good flights
 

Tim13

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2018
Messages
117
Reaction score
17
Points
18
@CTarana45 as I understand it, you only need the extras outside of Multistage2015, D3D9Client, and Shuttle Fleet v4.8r2, if you want to fly a specific scenario that includes that item. For example, if you want to fly some Hubble missions, you will have to install the HST listed above.

Most of my shuttle flying is just visiting the ISS or HST, as in just getting there, and docking. So I don't need most of the payload things.
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,124
Reaction score
1,401
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Great to see this project completed (y)

@CTarana45 as I understand it, you only need the extras outside of Multistage2015, D3D9Client, and Shuttle Fleet v4.8r2, if you want to fly a specific scenario that includes that item. For example, if you want to fly some Hubble missions, you will have to install the HST listed above.

Most of my shuttle flying is just visiting the ISS or HST, as in just getting there, and docking. So I don't need most of the payload things.
I would say yes. The other things are for payloads, scenery,...
I would also add the Camera MFD. It simulated the CCTV on the 2 aft monitors.
00) (https://www.orbithangar.com/showAddon.php?id=205c96ba-c00e-4d28-af4f-908589979fa9) .. Camera MFD for CCTV ... (CameraMFD)=

we are working on new VC for the early and later shuttle. And maybe a new zip. Some textures, mesh got left out
 

CTarana45

Active member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
188
Reaction score
41
Points
28
I would say yes. The other things are for payloads, scenery,...
I would also add the Camera MFD. It simulated the CCTV on the 2 aft monitors.
00) (https://www.orbithangar.com/showAddon.php?id=205c96ba-c00e-4d28-af4f-908589979fa9) .. Camera MFD for CCTV ... (CameraMFD)=

we are working on new VC for the early and later shuttle. And maybe a new zip. Some textures, mesh got left out
Well I did install everything but it says I'm still missing the drag chute meshes! Seven Star rating on this, John! Here is the log file from Orbiter 2016!

Thanks, John!

Christopher Tarana
 

Attachments

  • Orbiter Log.zip
    2.6 KB · Views: 15
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,124
Reaction score
1,401
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
I posted a zip for the drag chute buttons here:
I put the link to drag chute buttons on first page

And some textures.
 

CTarana45

Active member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
188
Reaction score
41
Points
28
That's the one I installed! All the fictional scenarios work great, along with the on orbit ones!

Thanks, John!

Christopher Tarana
 

CTarana45

Active member
Joined
Nov 7, 2018
Messages
188
Reaction score
41
Points
28
I fixed it! I copied the drag chute mesh from Orbiter2016/Meshes to Orbiter2016/Meshes/2016Spaceshuttle!

Thanks, John!

Christopher Tarana
 

Tim13

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2018
Messages
117
Reaction score
17
Points
18
@gattispilot One last-ish question. Do any of the launch scenarios have the docking adapter inside the shuttle bay, for missions to the ISS and MIR?
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,124
Reaction score
1,401
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
No problem. I don't think so. So to add the docking adapter. Just add "ODS" under the shuttle in the scenario. It tells the shuttle to show the mesh and a dock. Which mission were you thinking and I can see if I can put together one.
 

Tim13

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2018
Messages
117
Reaction score
17
Points
18
I've been using the Atlantis Launch SCN from the Atlantis scenarios in the STS2016 scenarios folder. If it's not too much trouble, I'd love the scenario, only to have a working example to be able to transfer that to other scenarios.

Next up for me will be trying to get the Thornton/Donamy ISS into the scenario. That should be fun..... LOL

Thanks.

Tim
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,124
Reaction score
1,401
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
I just looked at the Atlantis launch scn doesn't have the ODS. I attached a scn that has the ODS
STS:Shuttle2016B STATUS Landed Earth POS -80.6208900 28.6271740 HEADING 2.00 ALT 0.000 AROT 99.922 -54.902 51.216 ATTACHED 0:0,ET PRPLEVEL 0:1.000000 NAVFREQ 0 0 CONFIGURATION 3 GEAR 0 0.0000 HATCH 0 0.0000 Armtilt 0 0.0000 OV 104 ODS RMSARM EXTTANKHATCH 1 1.0000 ARM_STATUS 0.5000 0.0151 0.0162 0.5000 0.5000 0.5000 PL1_OFS 0.0000 6.2200 -7.7950 PL1_DIR 0.0000 1.0000 0.0000 PL1_ROT 0.0000 0.0000 1.0000 PL2_OFS 0.046000 0.280000 -3.000000 PL2_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000 PL2_ROT 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000 PL3_OFS 0.045000 0.180000 -0.234000 PL3_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000 PL3_ROT 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000 PL4_OFS 0.050000 0.200000 -0.085000 PL4_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000 PL4_ROT 0.000000 0.000000 -1.000000 PL5_OFS 0.046000 0.280000 -8.300000 PL5_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000 PL5_ROT 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000 PL6_OFS 2.128000 0.680000 -5.010000 PL6_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000 PL6_ROT 0.000000 0.000000 -1.000000 KEEL_CAM 0.145000 -0.500000 -1.356000 FLOOD1 0 FLOOD2 0 FLOOD3 0 FLOOD4 0 FLOOD5 0 FLOOD6 0 DOCK_LIGHT 0 AFT_LIGHT 0 RMSLIGHT 0 END
 

Attachments

  • atlantisodslaunch.zip
    1.3 KB · Views: 14

Tim13

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2018
Messages
117
Reaction score
17
Points
18
OK, one more simple question. Is there a line in scenario file that controls the starting position of the ET umbilical doors; open vs closed? The scenario I've been using starts with them closed, so when the ET is jettisoned, it looks odd to see them already closed.
 

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
815
Reaction score
942
Points
108
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
OK, one more simple question. Is there a line in scenario file that controls the starting position of the ET umbilical doors; open vs closed? The scenario I've been using starts with them closed, so when the ET is jettisoned, it looks odd to see them already closed.
This should be these lines:
Code:
  PETD 1 1.0000
  SETD 1 1.0000
Replace them with these if in the scenario it is set to 0.
If not present, you can copy the above and paste it onto the shuttle orbiter

To close them post-launch, just press Ctrl+J :)
 
Top