Software Pulling data from .pos, .att. and .atc files in real time

vanhayes

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm a college student, and I want to recreate a spaceship cockpit to do more realistic simulations. I intend to use orbiter for this because I've played around in Orbiter for a while and I have always been happy with the results. My intention to make this happen is to create a link between the orbiter software and a third party program (yet to be decided but currently using MATLAB just to observe data in an early stage) that can interpret what is happening in the simulation and any buttons or switches pressed by me outside the simulation.

The first step to this is for me to get familiar with collecting data from the simulation while it is running. I've done some research mostly aimed at starting a recording and using the playback data in real time. I've found many documents that explain the layout of the data inside the files under the "flights" folder, but i have yet to figure out how to actually open the files and look at my own data. When i try converting them, it usually results in a few data points but with terrible resolution.

Does anyone have any opinions/ideas on how i could either A. get the data out of these files quickly and efficiently or B. get the simulation to spit out live data better than through the playback capability.

Thanks in advance

p.s. I am not a very experienced software person, part of why I'm doing this project is to try to learn some software stuff. If its a complicated solution ill probably have questions to ask.

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
I have no idea what Matlab allows for importing such data - could you also poll the data from a webservice for example?

If yes, you could write a plugin to provide the data.

I know that there used to be solutions for flightdeck builders, but I am not sure if they still work with the current version.