Problem Problem calculating Rama's orbit for use in Orbiter

Peskie

Reaction score
Greetings. This is my first time starting a new topic on this forum, I hope I put it in the right place. And I'll apologize up-front for the long post. :)

Recently I happened to cross paths with http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rama_(spacecraft) and thought about adding a Rama vessel to Orbiter with a set of scenarios.

Rendezvous with Rama was always one of my favourite Sci-Fi books. Many years ago when first reading it I recall doing the calculations to check Clarke's description of the diameter, rotation, and centripetal acceleration and being pleasantly surprised that all the math worked out (i.e. Clarke had done the math when writing the book). So I figured I'd be able to use the books descriptions of Rama's orbit to create a matching orbit within Orbiter...

Has anyone else tried doing this? A forum and Google search turned up nothing.

I tried doing it and ran into difficulties. Basically the time from around Venus to the specified perihelion doesn't work for a hyperbolic orbit; the orbit would need to be elliptical for the time and distance specified (details below). Perhaps someone here can see if I've made a mistake in my procedure, assumptions, or understanding of the text.

Here are the relevant bits of information from the book that could be used to come up with an orbit:

• 31/439 Rama "was detected while it was still outside the orbit of Jupiter" (Chapter 2). That would be at >~5.77 AU from Sol. This was sometime in 2031.
  • It's on a hyperbolic orbit relative to Sol; eccentricity > 1
  • "Perhaps during the next few years some spaceship on its ordinary business might be routed close enough to get good photographs." (Ch2) This should give an approximate upper limit on the velocity/eccentricity (too high and it wouldn't stay in the solar system for years).