Software Orbiter2016 CTD when clicking MFD buttons to open dialog

ChronicShills

New member
Joined
Jan 7, 2022
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
Fredericton, NB
I am having a heck of a time getting orbiter to run. I have set up Orbiter2016 and D3D9 client. I can get it open, and I start with the Mission 1 Checklist DG to ISS. checklist scenario. When I click the TGT button on the map MFD, the game hangs for a moment and then crashes. I've attached the Orbiter.log file. I am running windows 10 on virtualbox on a linux host. I have also been having problems with the MFD using wine on both linux and mac, but I'm focused on getting it running in a windows vm now. Have i missed a step?

Thanks in advance for any help!
 

Johan2011

Active member
Joined
Oct 1, 2022
Messages
160
Reaction score
46
Points
43
Location
Los Mochis, Mexico, Earth, Sol
You can use the Linux version instead:

 

n72.75

Move slow and try not to break too much.
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,647
Reaction score
1,318
Points
128
Location
Saco, ME
Website
mwhume.space
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
^ that's in a very early dev stage. Eventually this will be the go-to for running on Linux.

There are some others that run Orbiter under WINE, I'm sure they will pop in with some advice.
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,053
Reaction score
498
Points
83
[...]I've attached the Orbiter.log file[...]
No, you haven't :ROFLMAO:
I'm not sure whether it will help, but it might shed some light to your issue.

Wasn't there a configuration setting to reduce the number of lines drawn on the Map-MFD somewhere? If there is, it might help.
 

Boxx

Mars Addict
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
168
Reaction score
122
Points
58
Location
Paris Area
running windows 10 on virtualbox on a linux host. I have also been having problems with the MFD using wine on both linux and mac, but I'm focused on getting it running in a windows vm now.
It should work, maybe VirtualBox is too much sensitive. Start without D3D9 first and with another VM manager. My multiplayer setup "orbiterx" (server + client) runs 24/7 without D3D9 on a Windows 10 VM on a Linux host (not virtualbox, but I can't say for sure now). Try VMWare, maybe.
 
Top