Installation Orbiter 2016 with D3D9 CTD in all scenarios

Galactic Penguin SST

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
3,671
Reaction score
2
Points
63
Location
Hong Kong
(Hey guys, I'm back to O-F after 2 years of hiatus in using Orbiter! OK, more on that later, but if you still follow me on NSF and on Twitter you'll know that I'm as crazy as ever on following all aspects spaceflight..... :hailprobe:)

After 1.5 years since Orbiter 2016 was released.....I finally got the time to try it out! Unfortunately it seems that something went wrong with my installation of O2016 with D3D9 client as it always crashes while starting. It seems that it happens just before Sun.dll loads.....but the logs are not showing any fatal error. Can anyone look if I'm missing something with my installation? Thanks! :cheers:

Orbiter.log:

Code:
**** Orbiter.log
000000.000: Build Aug 28 2016 [v.160828]
000000.000: Timer precision: 4.10529e-007 sec
000000.000: Found 0 joystick(s)
000000.000: Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module OrbiterSound.dll ...... [Build 121120, API 100830]
000000.000: Module ScnEditor.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module D3D9Client.dll ........ [Build 170705, API 160828]
000000.000: 
000000.000: **** Creating simulation session
000000.000: D3D9: [DirectX 9 Initialized]
000000.000: D3D9: 3D-Adapter = NVIDIA GeForce GT 640M LE
000000.000: D3D9: MaxTextureWidth........: 16384
000000.000: D3D9: MaxTextureHeight.......: 16384
000000.000: D3D9: MaxTextureRepeat.......: 8192
000000.000: D3D9: VolTexAddressCaps......: 0x3F
000000.000: D3D9: NumSimultaneousRTs.....: 4
000000.000: D3D9: VertexDeclCaps.........: 0x30F
000000.000: D3D9: XNA Math Support.......: Yes
000000.000: D3D9: Vertex Texture.........: Yes
000000.000: D3D9: Shadow Mapping.........: Yes
000000.000: D3D9: D3DFMT_A16B16G16R16F...: Yes
000000.000: D3D9: D3DFMT_A32B32G32R32F...: Yes
000000.000: D3D9: D3DFMT_D32F_LOCKABLE...: Yes
000000.000: D3D9: D3DFMT_A2R10G10B10.....: Yes
000000.000: D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_DEC3N........: No
000000.000: D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_2....: Yes
000000.000: D3D9: D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_4....: Yes
000000.000: D3D9: Runs under WINE........: No
000000.000: D3D9: Available Texture Memory = 4076 MB
000000.000: D3D9: [3DDevice Initialized]
000000.000: D3D9: [Loading Constellations]
000000.000: D3D9: [D3D9Client Initialized]

D3D9Client log:

Code:
(0: 0.0s 00.01ms)(0x1DD8) [Not Compiled With nVidia API]
(1: 0.0s 05.00ms)(0x1DD8) ================ clbkInitialise ===============
(2: 0.0s 00.05ms)(0x1DD8) Orbiter Version = 160828
(3: 0.7s 703.82ms)(0x1DD8) Index:0 320 x 200 60Hz (22)
(4: 0.7s 00.31ms)(0x1DD8) Index:1 320 x 240 60Hz (22)
(5: 0.7s 00.54ms)(0x1DD8) Index:2 400 x 300 60Hz (22)
(6: 0.7s 01.03ms)(0x1DD8) Index:3 512 x 384 60Hz (22)
(7: 0.7s 00.78ms)(0x1DD8) Index:4 640 x 400 60Hz (22)
(8: 0.7s 00.99ms)(0x1DD8) Index:5 640 x 480 60Hz (22)
(9: 0.7s 00.66ms)(0x1DD8) Index:6 800 x 600 60Hz (22)
(10: 0.7s 00.82ms)(0x1DD8) Index:7 1024 x 768 60Hz (22)
(11: 0.7s 00.64ms)(0x1DD8) Index:8 1280 x 600 60Hz (22)
(12: 0.7s 00.69ms)(0x1DD8) Index:9 1280 x 720 60Hz (22)
(13: 0.7s 00.64ms)(0x1DD8) Index:10 1280 x 768 60Hz (22)
(14: 0.7s 00.60ms)(0x1DD8) Index:11 1360 x 768 60Hz (22)
(15: 0.7s 00.61ms)(0x1DD8) Index:12 1366 x 768 60Hz (22)
(16: 14.9s 14223.55ms)(0x1DD8) Scenario = .\Scenarios\Delta-glider\Cape Canaveral.scn
(17: 15.0s 19.59ms)(0x1DD8) ================ clbkCreateRenderWindow ===============
(18: 15.0s 03.59ms)(0x1DD8) Window Handle = 0x407E8
(19: 15.7s 695.10ms)(0x1DD8) [VideoConfiguration] Adapter=0, ModeIndex=12
(20: 15.7s 00.56ms)(0x1DD8) 3D-Adapter = NVIDIA GeForce GT 640M LE
(21: 15.7s 05.73ms)(0x1DD8) dwFSMode = 0
(22: 15.7s 06.70ms)(0x1DD8) MaxTextureBlendStages..: 8
(23: 15.7s 00.04ms)(0x1DD8) MaxTextureWidth........: 16384
(24: 15.7s 03.99ms)(0x1DD8) MaxTextureHeight.......: 16384
(25: 15.7s 04.12ms)(0x1DD8) MaxTextureRepeat.......: 8192
(26: 15.7s 03.92ms)(0x1DD8) VolTexAddressCaps......: 0x3F
(27: 15.7s 03.92ms)(0x1DD8) MaxVolumeExtent........: 2048
(28: 15.7s 00.04ms)(0x1DD8) MaxPrimitiveCount......: 16777215
(29: 15.7s 00.02ms)(0x1DD8) MaxVertexIndex.........: 16777215
(30: 15.7s 00.02ms)(0x1DD8) MaxAnisotropy..........: 16
(31: 15.7s 00.02ms)(0x1DD8) MaxSimultaneousTextures: 8
(32: 15.7s 00.01ms)(0x1DD8) MaxStreams.............: 16
(33: 15.7s 00.01ms)(0x1DD8) MaxStreamStride........: 255
(34: 15.7s 00.01ms)(0x1DD8) MaxVertexBlendMatrices.: 4
(35: 15.7s 00.07ms)(0x1DD8) MaxVShaderInstrExecuted: 65535
(36: 15.7s 00.02ms)(0x1DD8) MaxPointSize...........: 8192.000000
(37: 15.7s 00.02ms)(0x1DD8) VertexShaderVersion....: 0x300
(38: 15.7s 00.01ms)(0x1DD8) PixelShaderVersion.....: 0x300
(39: 15.7s 00.01ms)(0x1DD8) NumSimultaneousRTs.....: 4
(40: 15.7s 03.88ms)(0x1DD8) D3DPTEXTURECAPS_POW2...: 0
(41: 15.7s 00.04ms)(0x1DD8) NONPOW2CONDITIONAL.....: 0
(42: 15.7s 00.02ms)(0x1DD8) VertexDeclCaps.........: 0x30F
(43: 15.7s 04.01ms)(0x1DD8) DevCaps................: 0x1BBEF0
(44: 15.7s 00.04ms)(0x1DD8) DevCaps2...............: 0x51
(45: 15.7s 00.02ms)(0x1DD8) XNA Math Support.......: Yes
(46: 15.7s 04.02ms)(0x1DD8) Vertex Texture.........: Yes
(47: 15.7s 03.95ms)(0x1DD8) Shadow Mapping.........: Yes
(48: 15.7s 03.90ms)(0x1DD8) D3DFMT_A16B16G16R16F...: Yes
(49: 15.7s 04.01ms)(0x1DD8) D3DFMT_A32B32G32R32F...: Yes
(50: 15.7s 04.08ms)(0x1DD8) D3DFMT_D32F_LOCKABLE...: Yes
(51: 15.7s 03.98ms)(0x1DD8) D3DFMT_A2R10G10B10.....: Yes
(52: 15.7s 04.00ms)(0x1DD8) D3DDTCAPS_DEC3N........: No
(53: 15.7s 04.02ms)(0x1DD8) D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_2....: Yes
(54: 15.7s 04.06ms)(0x1DD8) D3DDTCAPS_FLOAT16_4....: Yes
(55: 15.7s 04.13ms)(0x1DD8) Runs under WINE........: No
(56: 15.7s 01.42ms)(0x1DD8) [FULLSCREEN MODE] 1366 x 768, hWindow=0x407E8
(57: 15.9s 135.32ms)(0x1DD8) Available Texture Memory = 4076 MB
(58: 15.9s 10.87ms)(0x1DD8) === [3DDevice Initialized] ===
(59: 15.9s 04.37ms)(0x1DD8) ----- Initialize D3D9ClientSurface Tech -----
(60: 16.0s 68.73ms)(0x1DD8) Render Target = 0x128A5800
(61: 16.1s 165.18ms)(0x1DD8) [NEW FONT] ( Courier New), Size=20, Weight=400 Pitch&Family=31
(62: 16.2s 44.79ms)(0x1DD8) Font Video Memory Usage = 512 kb
(63: 16.2s 01.05ms)(0x1DD8) Font and Charter set creation succesfull
(64: 16.2s 03.74ms)(0x1DD8) Splash Window Size = [1366, 768]
(65: 16.2s 00.03ms)(0x1DD8) Splash Window LeftTop = [0, 0]
(66: 16.3s 105.69ms)(0x1DD8) Starting to initialize D3D9Client.fx a rendering technique...
(67: 16.9s 661.32ms)(0x1DD8) TileManager::GlobalInit()...
(68: 17.0s 60.46ms)(0x1DD8) Starting to initialize Surface.fx a shading technique...
(69: 17.6s 605.12ms)(0x1DD8) CSphereManager::GlobalInit()...
(70: 17.7s 45.66ms)(0x1DD8) [NEW FONT] ( Arial), Size=24, Weight=400 Pitch&Family=31
(71: 17.7s 49.89ms)(0x1DD8) Font Video Memory Usage = 512 kb
(72: 17.7s 00.33ms)(0x1DD8) Font and Charter set creation succesfull
(73: 17.7s 00.06ms)(0x1DD8) [NEW FONT] ( Arial), Size=15, Weight=400 Pitch&Family=31
(74: 17.7s 37.97ms)(0x1DD8) Font Video Memory Usage = 256 kb
(75: 17.7s 00.60ms)(0x1DD8) Font and Charter set creation succesfull
(76: 17.7s 00.06ms)(0x1DD8) [NEW FONT] ( Fixed), Size=18, Weight=400 Pitch&Family=31
(77: 17.8s 42.68ms)(0x1DD8) Font Video Memory Usage = 512 kb
(78: 17.8s 01.65ms)(0x1DD8) Font and Charter set creation succesfull
(79: 17.8s 01.72ms)(0x1DD8) CSphere Manager constructed
(80: 17.8s 00.03ms)(0x1DD8) ================ Scene Created ===============
(81: 17.8s 04.39ms)(0x1DD8) D3DQUERYTYPE_OCCLUSION is supported by device
(82: 17.8s 00.04ms)(0x1DD8) D3DQUERYTYPE_PIPELINETIMINGS not supported by device
(83: 17.8s 00.02ms)(0x1DD8) D3DQUERYTYPE_BANDWIDTHTIMINGS not supported by device
(84: 17.8s 00.02ms)(0x1DD8) D3DQUERYTYPE_PIXELTIMINGS not supported by device
 

statickid

CatDog from Deimos
Donator
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,683
Reaction score
4
Points
38
Yes there were some corrupted files being distributed when I originally got my copy a few months back. Well, maybe a little different: They wouldn't unzip properly without a special extraction effort, then it appeared fine until I ran it and it was similar- the launch window was fine, choosing a scenario was ctd, however this was fixed by downloading from a different mirror.
 

Galactic Penguin SST

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
3,671
Reaction score
2
Points
63
Location
Hong Kong
Last edited:

Galactic Penguin SST

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
3,671
Reaction score
2
Points
63
Location
Hong Kong
I will check when I am back from work, as I think I installed the Feb. 2010 update instead of this one.
I guess that doesn't affect older Orbiter versions, as O2010P1 is working well here?

Unfortunately re-installing DirectX didn't work either and CTD continues to occur at the same point when Orbiter loads the celestial sphere. :shrug:
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,225
Reaction score
497
Points
173
Could you post some screenshots of the directory structure as well as the video settings? Could be that some files or folders have been misplaced. Have you tried a re-install?
 

Galactic Penguin SST

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
3,671
Reaction score
2
Points
63
Location
Hong Kong
Could you post some screenshots of the directory structure as well as the video settings? Could be that some files or folders have been misplaced. Have you tried a re-install?

Just tried re-downloading the core package from Mirror 4 and re-unzipping, but the program still crashes at the same point.

Video settings are as below:
 

Attachments

  • 2018-02-11 13_53_54-Orbiter Server Launchpad.jpg
    2018-02-11 13_53_54-Orbiter Server Launchpad.jpg
    51.4 KB · Views: 18

Galactic Penguin SST

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
3,671
Reaction score
2
Points
63
Location
Hong Kong
I have deleted my original O2016 installation, re-unzipped the vanilla core package and tried to directly run my installation without D3D9 (which forced to use the Intel HD Graphics CPU chip instead of the NVidia GPU). It CTDs for a different reason:

Code:
**** Orbiter.log
000000.000: Build Aug 28 2016 [v.160828]
000000.000: Timer precision: 4.10528e-007 sec
000000.000: Found 0 joystick(s)
000000.000: Devices enumerated: 6
000000.000: Devices accepted: 5
000000.000: [ ] RGB Emulation (SW)
000000.000: [ ] Direct3D HAL (HW)
000000.000: [x] Direct3D T&L HAL (HW)
000000.000: [ ] Direct3D HAL (Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000) (HW)
000000.000: [x] Direct3D T&L HAL (Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000) (HW)
000000.000: Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: 
000000.000: **** Creating simulation session
000000.000: DirectDraw interface OK
000000.000: Direct3D interface OK
000000.000: Graphics: Viewport: Window 1360 x 739 x 32
000000.000: Graphics: Hardware T&L capability: Yes
000000.000: Graphics: Z-buffer depth: 32 bit
000000.000: Graphics: Active lights supported: 8
000000.000: Loading 15382 records from star database
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: >>> ERROR: DDraw error DDERR_BLTFASTCANTCLIP
000000.000: >>> [OrbiterGraphics::clbkBlt | .\OGraphics.cpp | 1633]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------

Re-installing D3D9 and then use it (with my laptop's GPU) ends up with the same error on the first post. :shrug:
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,225
Reaction score
497
Points
173
It sounds more and more like something has been corrupted. Could you try redownloading the base Orbiter 2016 package from a different mirror?
 

Galactic Penguin SST

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
3,671
Reaction score
2
Points
63
Location
Hong Kong
It sounds more and more like something has been corrupted. Could you try redownloading the base Orbiter 2016 package from a different mirror?

I already did that, from Mirror 4 of the Orbiter download page.
I'll check if re-downloading from other mirrors works.
 

Galactic Penguin SST

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
3,671
Reaction score
2
Points
63
Location
Hong Kong
I already did that, from Mirror 4 of the Orbiter download page.
I'll check if re-downloading from other mirrors works.

Nope, I again erased my O2016 folder and then re-unzipped a new core package from Mirror 1. The same problems persisted.

I wonder if the laptop's display cards are the culprit (despite I have the newest drivers and O2010P1 worked flawlessly)........ :sos:
 

Galactic Penguin SST

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
3,671
Reaction score
2
Points
63
Location
Hong Kong

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
4,811
Reaction score
1,322
Points
138
Does it CTD if you run in Window Mode?
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,225
Reaction score
497
Points
173
Have you tried disabling various visual effects to see if any of those are the problem? It could be that Orbiter 2016 with everything maxed out is just too much for your machine. For D3D9Client, I would also look at the Advanced settings and lowering those.
 

Galactic Penguin SST

Geek Penguin in GTO
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
3,671
Reaction score
2
Points
63
Location
Hong Kong
Does it CTD if you run in Window Mode?

Yes it does.

Have you tried disabling various visual effects to see if any of those are the problem? It could be that Orbiter 2016 with everything maxed out is just too much for your machine. For D3D9Client, I would also look at the Advanced settings and lowering those.

Given the CTD seeming to occur while scenetech.fx was being loaded, what visual effect should I tinker with first?
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,225
Reaction score
497
Points
173
Given the CTD seeming to occur while scenetech.fx was being loaded, what visual effect should I tinker with first?
The first things I would decrease is the max planetary resolution, from 19 (default) to 14 (max/default Orbiter 2010-P1). Then, I would disable surface elevation (terrain). I would leave the rest as is they're identical to Orbiter 2010-P1.

For D3D9Client, in the Advanced settings window I would decrease Terrain Resolution as it by default is set on the higher end of things. I would also decrease Mesh Resolution from 32 to 16.

If things run now, I would activate settings one-by-one until it crashed again.

Right now I'm about 80% certain that your machine might be running out of resources to handle everything. Could you list the complete specs of your laptop?
 
Last edited:
Top