Orbiter 2016 - RC.1

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,352
Reaction score
8
Points
0
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
Please try out the release candidate.

It's available as ZIP and MSI package:


Both versions are about 2.5GB in size.

Note that the MSI version is packaged as a self-extracting exe. This was necessary because the MSI format doesn't allow for MSI files larger than 2GB, so I had to include the actual contents as external CAB files. The SFX file simply extracts the MSI and CAB files, and then launches the MSI installer.
It still installs like a normal Windows application, i.e. can be uninstalled the usual way.

The packages contain the latest Orbiter beta snapshot (SVN r.58), plus low-resolution versions of the planetary textures. I've included some local high-res areas as showcases:
  • Earth: KSC
  • Earth: Alps
  • Moon: Area around Brighton Beach
  • Mars: Valles Marineris
  • Mars: Olympus Mons

Please install the RC into a new directory. Don't install it into your SVN beta checkout directory. Otherwise it gets hard to test, and might upset your SVN version.

There is also a D3D7 client to go with this RC, if you want to try it:
http://mirror.orbiter-radio.co.uk/orbiter/assets/packages/Orbiter_RC/d3d7client2016.zip

I'm going to update the download site for the planet texture packs to align with the RC, essentially removing the low-res packs (which are now bundled into the Orbiter package), and switching the high-res to the new compressed archive format.

Please let me know what you find regarding major problems. Keep in mind that Orbiter remains a work in progress, so this release won't be (and doesn't aim to be) perfect. I won't add any more features, and will leave minor problems to upcoming patches. Otherwise we might wait another six years for the release. :p
 

sputnik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
424
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Palmdale
Website
www.worldof2001.com
Fantastic! Looking good!

The Surface mode HUD always used to have a little marker pointing to the direction of the spaceport you were headed to. I see the .doc still says it's there, in Section 14.3. But I can't bring it up. It neither triggers off a spaceport selected in an MFD, nor using CTRL-R. How do I get the blasted surface marker to work?
 

Loru

Moderator
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
Warsaw
Works flawlesly both in inline and d3d9. Amazing work.
 

Shifty

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jul 24, 2013
Messages
395
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
San Diego
Awesome! Is there any place to get release notes without having to download the whole client?
 

Fabri91

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
2,034
Reaction score
14
Points
38
Location
Valmorea
Thank you for your continued effort! :) (This obviously extends to add-on developers, especially for the D3D9 client)
 

birdmanmike

Active member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
105
Reaction score
0
Points
31
Location
High Peak
Thanks for this! One thing - should Enjo's goodies for the beta work with this as is or should we hang fire
 

Loru

Moderator
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
3,733
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
Warsaw
Is Orbiter Sound compatible with this release? Thank's for the great work!
Appears to work however instead gear up and down callouts I got radiator callouts.
 

Enjo

Mostly harmless
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
1,662
Reaction score
4
Points
38
Location
Hildesheim, Germany
Website
www.enderspace.de
Thanks for this! One thing - should Enjo's goodies for the beta work with this as is or should we hang fire
They should work. I will prepare official releases for OH once Orbiter2016 moves out of RC versions.

---------- Post added at 08:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:44 PM ----------

Yep. they work.
 

Fabri91

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
2,034
Reaction score
14
Points
38
Location
Valmorea
A small issue I saw on the launchpad: after exiting a scenario all folders and scenarios show up twice:
 

GLS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
3,924
Reaction score
50
Points
73
Interesting ... Can anybody reproduce this? Is it a Windows10 specific problem?
I remember having this once or twice a while back. Using windows 7.
 
Top