Linux playground

Matias Saibene

Development hell
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
581
Points
128
Location
Monte Hermoso - Argentina
Website
de-todo-un-poco-computacion-e-ideas.blogspot.com.ar
I also tried with deactivated XRSound Module. Same result.

I have to install 64Gb? of textures? Do the Old Hi-Res work for a try?

Latest update I got - I installed this:
No need to download anything else.
The same problem happened to me (Segfault in CloudTile::Render()).
In my case I had forgotten to follow the first step of downloading Orbiter2016.zip and unzipping it in /home/username/orbiter_test/Orbiter
 

Col Brubaker

Hoax Developer
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
82
Reaction score
40
Points
33
Location
Free Republic of Germany
That's all?

Thread 1 "Orbiter" received signal SIGABRT, Aborted.
0x00007ffff79c90fc in ?? () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
(gdb) bt
#0 0x00007ffff79c90fc in ?? () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#1 0x00007ffff797b472 in raise () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#2 0x00007ffff79654b2 in abort () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#3 0x00007ffff79661ed in ?? () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#4 0x00007ffff79d2a75 in ?? () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#5 0x00007ffff79d4782 in ?? () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#6 0x00007ffff79d716f in free () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#7 0x00007ffff7104707 in VBMESH::~VBMESH() () from Modules/Plugin/libOGLClient.so
#8 0x00007ffff70d8c4c in __tcf_9 () from Modules/Plugin/libOGLClient.so
#9 0x00007ffff797d955 in ?? () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#10 0x00007ffff797da8a in exit () from /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6
#11 0x000055555576e1d5 in CelestialBody::RegisterModule(char*) ()
#12 0x000055555576ac03 in CelestialBody::CelestialBody(char*) ()
#13 0x000055555576f231 in Planet::planet(char*) ()
#14 0x0000555555737335 in PlanetarySystem::ScanMoons(std::basic_istream<char, std::char_traits<char> >&, CelestialBody*, char*) ()
#15 0x0000555555735d60 in PlanetarySystem::Read(char*) ()
#16 0x0000555555734e31 in PlanetarySystem::planetarySystem(char*) ()
#17 0x000055555571f2af in Orbiter::InitializeWorld(char*) ()
#18 0x0000555555720f59 in Orbiter::StartSession(Config*, char const*) ()
#19 0x0000555555720d96 in Orbiter::Launch(char const*) ()
#20 0x000055555574988d in DlgLaunchpad::DrawScenarios() ()
#21 0x000055555574965f in DlgLaunchpad::Show() ()
#22 0x000055555586638e in GUIManager::RenderGUI() ()
#23 0x00005555557224fc in Orbiter::RenderGUI() ()
#24 0x000055555572282f in Orbiter::Run() ()
#25 0x000055555571f11a in main ()
(gdb) Quit
(gdb)
It worked, after unziping Orbiter2016 and after I overinstalled Gondor routine.
OK, It is running, except NASSP. I'll make more installations. (y)

Now I have the Joystick problem. https://www.speedlink.com/Rocketeer-Joystick/SL-6629

The "Joystick" tab is just a placeholder with nothing in it, but if you have a gamepad plugged in, it may work anyway
 
Last edited:

Gondos

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
211
Reaction score
241
Points
58
Location
On my chair
That's all?


It worked, after unziping Orbiter2016 and after I overinstalled Gondor routine.
OK, It is running, except NASSP. I'll make more installations. (y)

Now I have the Joystick problem. https://www.speedlink.com/Rocketeer-Joystick/SL-6629
Nice,
For the joystick, there is an experimental graph based configuration tool.
You can see it in action at the beginning of this video :
You can access it when the simulation is running by right-clicking the top menuinfobar.
To see if your joystick is detected, plug/unplug it ingame and see if you have a notification showing up.
 

Col Brubaker

Hoax Developer
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
82
Reaction score
40
Points
33
Location
Free Republic of Germany
Yeah nice,

I saw this tool, just didn't understood it. Then I played around for hours with this tool.
Well, I don't like it. That need to be more user friendly. It is a game in a game.
It has to be plug and play. Nobody want to play snake-wordle.
This tool is for special cases. Looks like from an RC-controller for flying wings. There it is useful.
There is no reason, why everyone should play this game.
If people want use Orbiter on Linux, they may just turn around and buy Windows 12 with Kerbal ultimate.

There is a Gamecontroller,.. from I think KDE. Why not connect them?

On the other hand it is right what I requested long time ago. You can build a reverse button for the RCS.
Kill Rot on the fire button and so on...

And how to recognize rotation and lantation?
 
Last edited:

Gondos

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
211
Reaction score
241
Points
58
Location
On my chair
Yeah nice,

I saw this tool, just didn't understood it. Then I played around for hours with this tool.
Well, I don't like it. That need to be more user friendly. It is a game in a game.
It has to be plug and play. Nobody want to play snake-wordle.
This tool is for special cases. Looks like from an RC-controller for flying wings. There it is useful.
There is no reason, why everyone should play this game.
If people want use Orbiter on Linux, they may just turn around and buy Windows 12 with Kerbal ultimate.

There is a Gamecontroller,.. from I think KDE. Why not connect them?

On the other hand it is right what I requested long time ago. You can build a reverse button for the RCS.
Kill Rot on the fire button and so on...

And how to recognize rotation and lantation?
Yes, it is quite complicated but that's the price to pay for full freedom of customization...
There is an "RCS mode" node in the "Actions" panel. It's linked to the orbiter core so that it can interact with VC buttons.
 

Col Brubaker

Hoax Developer
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
82
Reaction score
40
Points
33
Location
Free Republic of Germany
Forget what I wrote before.
I invented the Joystick-In-Flight-Calibration-System (JIFCS) :D

If you press button 5,or Kill-Rot and the joystick is untouched, it will re-calibrate itself.
Please tell me how to extract this as code and how to upload ?
 

Attachments

  • Joystick with automatic-in-flight-calibration.png
    Joystick with automatic-in-flight-calibration.png
    399.1 KB · Views: 8
Last edited:

Matias Saibene

Development hell
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
581
Points
128
Location
Monte Hermoso - Argentina
Website
de-todo-un-poco-computacion-e-ideas.blogspot.com.ar
Forget what I wrote before.
I invented the Joystick-In-Flight-Calibration-System (JIFCS) :D


If you press button 5,or Kill-Rot and the joystick is untouched, it will re-calibrate itself.
Please tell me how to extract this as code and how to upload ?
Always remember to press the Save button. Doing so creates a .json file in /home/username/orbiter_test/Orbiter/Controllers
 

Col Brubaker

Hoax Developer
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
82
Reaction score
40
Points
33
Location
Free Republic of Germany
And here you can download my Default.json file:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/s5fijxaexz4spl7/Default.json/file <-- v0.1beta

Start Scenario with throttle on 0.
The first you do, if your scenario is running: Press the button 5 to calibrate.
Button 5 copies the deadzone-value of the throttle, which is currently ~0.04 and add -0.04 to all axis.
If you press during the game the Kill-Rot-button, or button 3, while the joystick is in all zero-positions.
  • Rotation will be killed - as long as you hold this button pressed.
  • all thrusters will stop immediately.
  • and the current value of the thruster (has to be 0 at this moment or a little bit more),plus a deadzone value (-0.04), will be added to all axis and saved as deadzone for all axis.
Actually the deadzone for all axles can be adjusted at the start of the scenario.
  • The amount of speed you give on the main engine now, will be added to the deadzone of all axles. (min 4% - or higher if you wish)
  • Press button 5 to calibrate this level. ( The main engine itself can only be "deadzone-adjusted in the joystick-panel )
  • Set main engine back to 0.

It is not really a solution. A few Boolesche Operators would be helpful.

Another button switches from ROT to LAN to OFF and back.
In OFF-mode you have control on the airfoils and the main engine. No RCS active.
They work also in ROT-mode.

There is also a retro-button. Actually it was meant for docking.
[ The coolie-hat ("Rundblickschalter") :ROFLMAO: is on one false axle. And some lantation moves are not right.
And yes, it is spaghetti-code and can be reduced to half the boxes. ]

And I am serious impressed by Orbiter on Linux.
(y)
 
Last edited:

n72.75

Move slow and try not to break too much.
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,648
Reaction score
1,319
Points
128
Location
Saco, ME
Website
mwhume.space
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
What is this GUI?
 

Col Brubaker

Hoax Developer
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
82
Reaction score
40
Points
33
Location
Free Republic of Germany
For me it works!
OK, I stalled Atlantis 800m over Kapustin Yar. Sorry. But It made the whole reentry since undocking from ISS.with this "Joystick-driver".
I made a few changes. It is more understandable. There are little notes, cause of the calibration.
Some beta-testing feedback would be nice. I am still not sure about -/+ of all half-axles ?
Does it work with other joysticks? Is this "calibration-thing" too strange? Does it work at all?
And it should be good for the Delta-Glider too.
Manual :
Start with main engine throttle down on 0
  • Press Key Nr. 5 for to calibrate
  • Kill-ROT is on Key Nr. 3
    • Key 0 or "FIRE" resets the camera
    • Key 1 switches between ROT to LAN to OFF (only airfoils and main engine) and back to ROT
    • Key 2 RETRO - for docking
    • Key 3 KILL-ROT; - All thrusters stop, but NO MECO and then re-calibration. ( Just press Key 3 - don't move the handle or throttles ! )
    • Key 4 shows the HUD --> Currently out of order . . .
    • Key 5 CALIBRATES THE JOYSTICK at the beginning of the scenario, by adding a value between -0.06 and 0.00 to each splitter and all half-axles.
    • Values of half-axles are between -0.06 to 0.96 or 0 to 1.00.
      • It can slightly be adjusted at the .SCN-start: Press Key 3,( KILL-ROT ) and don't move the handle ! - All thrusters will stop, also MECO and then re-calibration.
      • You can set a smaller deadzone to your axles, if your main-engine fires up to maximum 4% or 5% before you press Key 5
      • You also can adjust the Deadzone-variable at the Main.Engine-Input of the contoler:
        Contoler  Main Engine input..png

JIFCS v0.2.1beta - Joystick-In-Flight-Calibration-System
Controller-driver for Orbiter on native Linux
Tested with Speedlink Rocketeer VibratioN SL-6629JIFCS v0.2.1beta - a Joystick-In-Flight-Calibration-System

JIFCS v0.2.1beta.png
 

Attachments

  • Contoler  Main Engine input..png
    Contoler Main Engine input..png
    34.4 KB · Views: 1
  • Contoler  Main Engine input..png
    Contoler Main Engine input..png
    34.4 KB · Views: 1
  • Contoler  Main Engine input..png
    Contoler Main Engine input..png
    34.4 KB · Views: 1
Last edited:

Gondos

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
211
Reaction score
241
Points
58
Location
On my chair
Forget what I wrote before.
I invented the Joystick-In-Flight-Calibration-System (JIFCS) :D


If you press button 5,or Kill-Rot and the joystick is untouched, it will re-calibrate itself.
Please tell me how to extract this as code and how to upload ?
This is some monster:eek:
Maybe I should have told that you can configure a deadzone by right clicking in the axis :
deadzone.png
 

Gondos

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 18, 2022
Messages
211
Reaction score
241
Points
58
Location
On my chair
I think I do have hardware acceleration enabled.
Bash:
[matias@matias-mb40ii2 ~]$ glxinfo | grep "direct rendering"
direct rendering: Yes
Yes, even if it won't give you stellar performances, it should be better than pure software rendering.
I think the issue may be due to the logarithmic depth buffer I introduced later on. Maybe you can try with an earlier version before that change (877409617c398dc9f9bba2578843404ff544c57d for example)
 

Matias Saibene

Development hell
Joined
Jul 7, 2012
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
581
Points
128
Location
Monte Hermoso - Argentina
Website
de-todo-un-poco-computacion-e-ideas.blogspot.com.ar
Yes, even if it won't give you stellar performances, it should be better than pure software rendering.
I think the issue may be due to the logarithmic depth buffer I introduced later on. Maybe you can try with an earlier version before that change (877409617c398dc9f9bba2578843404ff544c57d for example)
I'll try it and let you know.
 

Col Brubaker

Hoax Developer
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
82
Reaction score
40
Points
33
Location
Free Republic of Germany
Just save your Original and rename it.

I got Orbiter on Linux and I desperately wanted to fly tonight. I did! . And you both did genius work.

And yes I know that I can define a Deadzone Gondos. But do it with this crab:
Look on my Controller nonsense input data: Contolejr nonsense data.png
I don't know what it is. It works with mud data and out of control. - I had no "thrusters firing incident" in the test-flights. I feels even smooth.

AND I had problems with the HUD! Thank you. I wait for the solution, before mess my installation up. I need to clone it to a big USB 3.0, before to carry on.
Any easy way for that? Perhaps with MX Linux on a other partition???
 

Attachments

  • Contolejr nonsense data.png
    Contolejr nonsense data.png
    23.9 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

n72.75

Move slow and try not to break too much.
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,648
Reaction score
1,319
Points
128
Location
Saco, ME
Website
mwhume.space
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
This is a concept for a graph based controller mapping tool that got out of control^^
I would love to use something like this to generate/view systems configs for NASSP, but I'm not familiar with the library.
 

Col Brubaker

Hoax Developer
Joined
May 21, 2011
Messages
82
Reaction score
40
Points
33
Location
Free Republic of Germany
I would love to use something like this to generate/view systems configs for NASSP, but I'm not familiar with the library.
All you need to do, is to find the file Default.json in your Orbiter-test older. Rename it to DefaultORIGINAL.json
Then you take the file from my download and name it Default.json and place it where the original was.
Connect your flight-stick, start Orbiter and press Key 5.
 
Top