Is Orbiter SDK development a good way to learn flight software development?

chalcrow

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
I've started SDK development using Orbiter. I'm doing it so that I can learn flight software development, as I want to work on real space flight software development. I'm an experienced software engineer but a complete C++ and Orbiter noob. I've now got the Atlantis sample building thanks to some help from the forum, so I just made a donation on the forum and intend to keep supporting Orbiter :)

Is using the Orbiter SDK a good approach for learning real flight software programming? How similar is it to real spacecraft flight software development?

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
First of all no - different programming language and programming concepts. Real flight software development is more about paperwork than about being creative, you rarely leave the known "cooking recipes" for keeping quality high.

Second, a weak yes: It helps you learn about some key concepts behind GNC.

chalcrow

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
Thanks Urwumpe. What's GNC? Is there a better option than Orbiter to learn about real spacecraft software development? What would you recommend? Have you worked on real spacecraft flight software? There's a guy Joe Barnard who's started a model rocketry company called BPS space who has some good stuff, although it's very hardware based rather than software and again I'm not sure how much it simulates real flight software development.

Last edited:

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Reaction score
GNC = Guidance, Navigation and Control.

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
i started my business and one of my friend adviced me to systematize my database. He advices me a good tool as <O-F Staff: Spam link deleted>, someone use that? I need some reviews, can someone helps me?