Problem I can't seem to get the pursuit MFD to point the docking ports to each other during an RPOP maneuver.

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,937
Reaction score
246
Points
138
Location
Cape
Does anyone know how that works?
 

fatcat

Member
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
110
Reaction score
7
Points
18
Hey Donamy,

I hope this is not too simple an answer.

RPOP is the Shuttle's Rendezvous and Proximity Operations Program that is used for docking, yes?
Anyways:

To dock the Shuttle to the ISS using Pursuit MFD:
Select DOC. (Docking Relative Mode)
Select TGT and type in ISS. (Target = ISS)
LDK will already be set to 01 (Local Docking Port. Shuttle has only 1 port)
TGT and type 01. (Target ISS Port = 01)
Select NOR twice (to include roll alignment)
Select DIS and type 0 0 10. (Sets the X Y Z distances for 10 m off)
Select APD (Autopilot Docking) and watch it chew up fuel as it moves to position.
If you want to roll around for your tile check, select NOR = no roll.

A great addon, but you can use less fuel with manual docking :)
 
Last edited:

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,937
Reaction score
246
Points
138
Location
Cape
Thanks for the response.
I'm trying to do the approach that CargoDragon2 did for docking.
I'm starting 600m below and pointing at the Harmony nadir. I set up to maneuver to IDA1, both port to 1 docking target, DIS 0 0 280. I press the NOR until the roll reads "blank", then press APD. Is that correct ? It moves to position correctly (you're right about the fuel), but it doesn't point to the IDA1 port. I'm trying do this remotely from the monitors in the cupola, BTW.
 

fatcat

Member
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
110
Reaction score
7
Points
18
I only use the default ISS. But I get the Cargo Dragon 2 to move from 600 m below to 280 m in front and to point at the ISS dock.
Blank on the NOR is correct. This will control the roll. If it's not pointing, then it's a yaw maneouver.
Sounds like a TGT dock selection issue. Maybe?
How do you use an MFD remotely from another vessel? I can learn about this myself.
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,937
Reaction score
246
Points
138
Location
Cape
From another vessel, select the REM button in the PursuitMFD. It will ask you to enter the vessel name. Then it's the same as before. If you want to control the other vessels thrusters, you need the vessel remote control from OH.
 

Attachments

  • CD2 docking.jpg
    CD2 docking.jpg
    181.5 KB · Views: 10
  • CD2 control page.jpg
    CD2 control page.jpg
    176.4 KB · Views: 10

fatcat

Member
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
110
Reaction score
7
Points
18
Thanks Donamy. Remote works great.
I should preserve with the ISS A-Z . I use Orbiter for teaching, so have a fairly stock install.

So why is yours not pointing at the ISS port? Hmmm.
Have you tried: Default ISS; a different port; another vessel (DG)?
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2020-12-15 at 5.38.25 pm.png
    Screen Shot 2020-12-15 at 5.38.25 pm.png
    939.1 KB · Views: 8

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,937
Reaction score
246
Points
138
Location
Cape
It seemed to work the first time I tried it, but hasn't since. I think I reduced the rates before.
 
Top