Flight Question Help with capsule reentry

SandroSalgueiro

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm opening this thread to look for some help in reentry procedures.

I'm new to Orbiter and lately I have been practicing a lot of flights from the Cape to the ISS and back. So far, I've had successful attempts with both the DGIV and the XR2.

As I wanted to step up in realism, I downloaded a Soyuz TMA add-on (included in ISS V3.2). After reading its documentation, I had no problem launching and docking to the ISS. When trying to reenter the atmosphere to land, however, problems quickly arose. Here's what has been happening: after properly separating the capsule and executing a de-orbit burn, the autopilot kicks in and takes control of the ship maneuvers. Because it starts a fixed pitch program, I can't correct trajectory during the descent for a pinpoint landing and end up landing too far from the designated landing site.

For comparison, on the XR2, I only use the Attitude Autopilot, being able to manage the AoA through the whole descent and keep my impact point constantly updated as drag and lift build up.

I did search for tutorials, but it seems that most of them are geared towards the Deltaglider. Finally, I ask for your help on how to land this Soyuz and capsules in general.

Any shared content is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Sandro Salgueiro

---------- Post added at 04:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:00 AM ----------

Here's what happened on my latest try: after the de-orbit burn, the ship got oriented heatshield-first. A few kilometers after passing the atmosphere interface, the capsule started climbing and bounced back to an orbit of 250K apoapsis. The HUD indicated that a Ballistic Entry program had kicked in, but, apparently, it didn't prevent lift from building up.

What's wrong?

clickypens

Orbinauta
Reaction score