Question Help! Need Assistance with Some Prounciations

Arrowstar

Probenaut
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

As some around here know, I'm a graduate student studying astronautics. I also happen to teach a basic calculus course to help pay for that education. In my class, I have a few Chinese students who have particularly difficult names to pronounce. What I'm looking for is someone help me turn the pinyin into a phonetic pronunciation I can then memorize.

I've got most of them down, but there are five that still allude me. Here's the list (last names obviously withheld to protect identities):

Zijian
Zhongyu
Jingyuan
Yumeng
Yun

Let me give an example of what I'm looking for so that everything is clear. I have another student named "Xin" and that individual states their name is pronounced "sheen." I'd be looking for you to give me the "sheen" part, preferably correlated to the "Xin" part so that I know which name goes with which pronunciation.

Thank you for your help! :cheers:

Grover

Saturn V Misfire
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
AFAIK (so dont expect it to be greatly accurrate)

zid-jian
song-you
sing-(y)uan
yum-eng
jun

the beauty of chinese names written in english is that they are only translated to this language by sound, so just say it like it reads

Eccentrus

Geekernaut
Reaction score