FULL Orbiter Installation

chosen_silver

Reaction score
I have been playing with Orbiter on and off for a couple of years now, but I have never been able to get it fully working the way that it should. It seems that some of the add-ons that I have downloaded cause a lot of the other add-ons to stop working. Basically the only add-ons that work for me right now (aside from MFD add-ons) are the DG, DGIV, and the default Atlantis.

As soon as I try to load any of the others, it just crashes back to the desktop. I am not sure of this has something to do with the order in which I installed everything. I would love to be able to use the rest of the nasa training fleet, and the other shuttles and orbiting objects.

Is there anywhere to download 1 file that basically does the whole install in the correct order and includes most/all of the commonly used add-ons/scenarios. I would be forever in debt if someone could provide something like this.

I am running Vista Ultimate if that helps in any way.

dbeachy1

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Reaction score
Website
alteaaerospace.com
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
Remember that any add-on (even just an MFD add-on) can crash Orbiter. A single buggy add-on can cause all kinds of bizarre problems with other add-ons when they are loaded as well. If an add-on corrupts memory it can cause a crash if the corrupted memory is used by any other add-on or by the Orbiter core itself. In effect, one add-on can be the "victim" of another buggy add-on.

I recommend a standard troubleshooting approach:

1. Install a clean Orbiter instance with only OrbiterSound. Do not load any MFD add-ons yet.
2. Install the ship add-ons that you want one-at-a-time, testing after each ship is installed.
3. Assuming that works, install each MFD add-on that you want one-at-a-time, testing after each one is installed.

That will let you pin own the problem add-on.

tblaxland

O-F Administrator
Administrator