Problem D3D9 client won't start

DaveBowman

Donator
Donator
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Braunschweig
Hello!

I have just installed the D3D9 client, but can not get it running.

I have activated the client in Orbiter-ng launchpad, but when I start the sim, I just get a console window, telling me that the server is running without graphics client.
I found that the required hardlinks to the config and sound folders are missing. As a workaround, I copied the folders, but that didn't solve the problem.
Peculiar: The video tab in the Launchpad is missing in Orbiter_ng (not in the classic Orbiter.exe).

Any ideas?


system: Windows XP, Orbiter 100830, d3d9 R12

p.s.: Problem seems similar to question posted by jbsheridan in http://orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?t=31531.
 

DaveBowman

Donator
Donator
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Braunschweig
I just found this in "Orbiter.log":

Error loading module Modules\Plugin\D3D9Client.dll (code -1073741795)
Error loading module Modules\Plugin\D3D7Client.dll (code 14001)

Problem is the same with D3D7 client instead of D3D9.

What brand/model is your gfx card?
ATI RADEON 9600 PRO.
DirectX is version 9.0c

---------- Post added at 11:49 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:43 AM ----------

@ Ripley:

I read your installation instructions for the client. You tell us to open the video tab in the launcher, but there is no such tab in the ng version. Otherwise it's very informative, thank you for sharing this.
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,893
Reaction score
10
Points
38
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
Thanks :thumbup:

Has your Orbiter ever worked before?
Did you download the zip or msi version?
Maybe redownload the whole package, or just the "D3D9 R12"?
 

orb

O-F Administrator,
Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
14,023
Reaction score
0
Points
0
What you your CPU? Does it support SSE / SSE2 instruction set?

The D3D9Client issue isn't actually graphics card related.
 

DaveBowman

Donator
Donator
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Braunschweig
Do you have DX9 runtime libraries (FEB2010) installed?? Documentation speaks of them:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=9033

Also in Video->Advanced you can set shader model to Level20 as your GPU supports that shader model.
OK, I updated my DirectX, but that didn't do it. no change.
But I guess it was worth a try.
As I said before, THERE IS NO VIDEO TAB! so, no Video->Advanced, no nothing. :beathead:

Thanks :thumbup:

Has your Orbiter ever worked before?
Did you download the zip or msi version?
Maybe redownload the whole package, or just the "D3D9 R12"?
Yes, classic Orbiter (with built-in graphics) works fine. :thumbup:
If I select another client (D3D7, OGLA) in ng, problem is the same as with D3D9. So I don't think it's a bad download.

What you your CPU? Does it support SSE / SSE2 instruction set?

The D3D9Client issue isn't actually graphics card related.
System Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
System Model: A7N8X-X
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.7GHz
Memory: 1024MB RAM

I don't now how to tell which instruction set it uses. :idk:
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
8,769
Reaction score
31
Points
123
Based on my short googling around, it seems like that while your CPU does support SSE, it does not support SSE2.

And also, your specs are very low-end. That machine will not run Orbiter really well. For one thing, the RAM is very low.
 

orb

O-F Administrator,
Administrator
Joined
Oct 30, 2009
Messages
14,023
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 2200+, MMX, 3DNow, ~1.7GHz
That's the source of the issue. The processor doesn't support SSE2 instruction set which is used in the code of D3D9Client, and hence the "Invalid Instruction" (code -1073741795) error during loading the module.


The D3D7Client error 14001 on the other hand is because of missing C++ runtime dependencies.

Which version of D3D7Client did you try to use? The last one you can download won't work with 100830 anyway, as it's for Orbiter beta, and Orbiter beta has different version of C++ runtime dependencies which may explain this error has occurred, and not another.
 

DaveBowman

Donator
Donator
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
26
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Braunschweig
And also, your specs are very low-end. That machine will not run Orbiter really well. For one thing, the RAM is very low.
Yes, it's an old steamer, I know. But good for working, it keeps me from being tempted by all those exciting new games... ;)
Well, perhaps not for very much longer.

That's the source of the issue. The processor doesn't support SSE2 instruction set which is used in the code of D3D9Client, and hence the "Invalid Instruction" (code -1073741795) error during loading the module.

Which version of D3D7Client did you try to use? The last one you can download won't work with 100830 anyway, as it's for Orbiter beta, and Orbiter beta has different version of C++ runtime dependencies which may explain this error has occurred, and not another.
I see. So you just gave me one more reason to buy a new computer. ;)
And yes, D3D7 was version 111105.

Thank you all for your help, and for all the response! :tiphat:
 
Top