Project CST-100 Starliner

Zandy12

Add-on Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 19, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
West Palm Beach
Hey francisdrake and everybody. Great work on the addon! It works very well and I enjoy using it. The launch animations are fantastic.

ISSUES:

- The scenario with the falcon9 crashes at startup with the d3d9 client. I have the log file if you want it but it doesn't specify any particular issue.

- The ISS scenario works great though in d3d9 but the edwards one doesn't
(I don't have the Atlas V addon so I couldn't test that scenario).

- Chute animation after reentry is fair just the top chutes aren't properly being jettisoned after the 2nd chutes are deployed. Not a biggie though.

- The VC is buggy once the Service Module is jettisoned for reentry.

- w/o the d3d9 client everything works great.

IDEAS:

- It would be cool if the addon had an autopilot reentry mode for the capsule similar to the Cargo Dragon addon by Brianj.

- Making a damage model and textures for this addon would be pretty cool.

- I really hope Boeing comes out with official physical parameters for the CST-100 so the physics can be more realistic but so far i'm impressed with the addon just is.

Again great job on the addon!
 

francisdrake

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
884
Reaction score
418
Points
78
Website
francisdrakex.deviantart.com
Thanks for the feedback! And for the nice words! :)

The Falcon9 scenario requires BrianJ's addon installed:
[ame="https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=7091"]Falcon9 for Orbiter2016[/ame]

The Atlas V is included in the package. You just have to install Mulitstage2015 first:
[ame="https://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=7010"]Multistage2015 - for Orbiter 2016[/ame]

Next weekend I will release a maintenance update with cleaned meshes (more stable in D3D9 then) and a reset cockpit position in capsule-only mode.

The reentry autopilot is amazing! I am afraid this is beyond my programming skills. Still, I will have a look how this works, but don't expect too much on short hand.

On physical parameters: All are educated guesses, aside from the total mass (13 ton) and a few figures published on the RCS thrusters. If there is a nerdy interest, I can publish the spreadsheet with my assumptions.
 

barrygolden

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
728
Reaction score
158
Points
58
Location
North of Houston
reach out to brianj to help with the deorbit and landing and he's great with the re-entry damage as well

---------- Post added 09-20-18 at 02:49 PM ---------- Previous post was 09-19-18 at 09:35 PM ----------

hate to change the subject but when I use your MAV its upside down on Mars any thoughts ?
 

francisdrake

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
884
Reaction score
418
Points
78
Website
francisdrakex.deviantart.com
picture.php

Visual glitch

I am experiencing visual glitches like the one above. These are faces extending into infinity. I removed all isolated vertices, but still. I assume this is the reason for the 'sudden deaths' while loading. Probably the default graphics client is more forgiving than the D3D9 client.

Has anyone experienced glitches like this, maybe with another model?
And how can they be identified and removed?
I ran the Shipedit mesh check, but it said "No problems found".
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,845
Reaction score
99
Points
123
Location
Cape
Try welding all vertices and optimizing the faces.
 

francisdrake

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 23, 2008
Messages
884
Reaction score
418
Points
78
Website
francisdrakex.deviantart.com
New version 06 on the front page.
Corrected the invisible cockpit in reentry mode.
In the virtual cockpit now the eyepoint can be moved up and down with ctrl-arrow up, down. This is to 'stand up' and have a better view on the target during docking.
Thanks to gattis for this tip!

Some mesh bugs crept in or became worse. This version is somewhat unstable on scenario loading, especially in the D3D9 client.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,600
Reaction score
1,750
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So in d3d9 the CST at ISS loaded. But the Launch on LC41 AtlasV gives a ctd. land at edwards CTD also in d3d9
 

Zandy12

Add-on Developer
Donator
Joined
Nov 19, 2017
Messages
170
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
West Palm Beach
I haven't seen the glitch you are talking about in either dx7 or d3d9 even with the update you've just released. I'm still having trouble with loading the falcon9 scenario in d3d9 (dx7 works fine) but maybe its an issue on my end. The re-entry capsule cockpit works perfectly now thank you for fixing that bug! But I agree with gattispilot there's still some issues loading stuff in d3d9.
 

MikenJi

New member
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
17
Reaction score
1
Points
3
View attachment 23072
The CST-100 Starliner over Floridas east coast

With the commercial crew program approaching its first launches I think Boeing's CST-100 Starliner shall be in Orbiter as well. This is an early version. Code and everything are a little rough and need improvement over time.

Reliable data on the CST-100 are difficult to find. This is what I estimated:
CM mass 4400 kg (including a crew of 5)
SM mass 5100 kg dry + 3100 kg fuel
Nose covers and aerodynamic skirt 400 kg (these are jettisoned during ascent)

The vessel can either be launched on an
  • Atlas V using Multistage2015 by fred18, or
  • Falcon9 for Orbiter 2016 by BrianJ

Keys:
A ... Abort engines manually, deliver 5-6 g for a few seconds
K ... Hatch open/close, animation needs improvement
J ... Abort when on Atlas V (press multiple times)
ctrl-Arrow up, down ... switch virtual cockpit eyepoint
ctrl-J ... Jettison service module
----
Update 06:
Switch virtual cockpit eyepoint with ctrl-arrow up, down.
Note: This version is somewhat unstable because of mesh bugs.
Anyone knows how to fix this texture issue with the launchpad LC41? I've been trying to edit the config file in the Orbiter 2016 to no prevail :(
 

Attachments

  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    374.1 KB · Views: 28

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,600
Reaction score
1,750
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Not a texture issue. Can you post your scenario. It looks like the mesh is 90 degrees off or something like that
 

MikenJi

New member
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
17
Reaction score
1
Points
3
Not a texture issue. Can you post your scenario. It looks like the mesh is 90 degrees off or something like that
Here's the scenario. It's pretty much the vanilla .scn and I have not modified anything in it yet.
And yes, the LC41 mesh is 90 degrees off, it should be flat on the surface


BEGIN_DESC
* This scenario uses Multistage 2015 *


Launch the Starliner from LC41 at 12:08:00 UTC.

Press [P] to activate the autopilot.

330km x 330 km orbit, 51.65deg.inc.

END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
System Sol
Date MJD 58360.5040108546
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
AtlasV
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
TARGET AtlasV
MODE Extern
POS 2.040000 127.440000 43.410000
TRACKMODE Ground Earth
GROUNDLOCATION -80.58090 28.58397 43.42
FOV 50.00
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
TYPE Surface
END_HUD

BEGIN_MFD Left
TYPE Surface
SPDMODE 1
END_MFD

BEGIN_MFD Right
TYPE Orbit
PROJ Ship
FRAME Equator
ALT
REF Earth
END_MFD

BEGIN_SHIPS
AtlasV:Multistage2015
STATUS Landed Earth
POS -80.5828310 28.5834560
HEADING 100
FUEL 1.000
CONFIG_FILE Config\Multistage2015\Config\AtlasVN22\AVN22-CST.ini
GUIDANCE_FILE Config\Multistage2015\Guidance\AtlasVN22\avN22.txt
CONFIGURATION 0
CURRENT_BOOSTER 1
CURRENT_STAGE 1
CURRENT_PAYLOAD 1
END
LC41:Vessels/B_SLC41/b_slc41
STATUS Landed Earth
POS -80.5828310 28.5834560
HEADING 180.00
PRPLEVEL 0:1.000
THLEVEL 0:1.000 3:1.000
NAVFREQ 0 0
UMB 0 0.0000
END
LC41_crewtower:Vessels/B_SLC41/b_slc41_crewtower
STATUS Landed Earth
POS -80.5829310 28.5835960
HEADING 10.00
END
ISS:projectAlpha_ISS
STATUS Orbiting Earth
RPOS 1231912.340 388855.224 6657665.411
RVEL -5683.9422 5089.4617 756.2319
AROT -97.945 -47.940 16.334
; VROT 0.0601 -0.0000 0.0000
AFCMODE 7
PRPLEVEL 0:1.000000
IDS 0:588 10 1:586 10 2:584 10 3:582 10 4:580 10
NAVFREQ 0 0
XPDR 466
END
END_SHIPS
 
Last edited:

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
996
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
Try to create a new vessel for the terrain. Then load it landed.
You can do it using vessel builder. It allows you to adjust mesh height relative to the surface, and to rotate the mesh if necessary.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,600
Reaction score
1,750
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
I just ran your scn. And I got this. It looks like the pad may need to elevates at bit?
Zj0lfWF.jpg
 

MikenJi

New member
Joined
Dec 2, 2016
Messages
17
Reaction score
1
Points
3
I just ran your scn. And I got this. It looks like the pad may need to elevates at bit?
Zj0lfWF.jpg
Now all scenarios in the CST-100 v6 files (except for the Edwards landing) stopped working altogether...

I dunno what I did wrong but it seems this addon really hates me :(
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,600
Reaction score
1,750
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
post your log and we can see

I just reloaded v6 and no issues except the pad needing to be raised a bit
 
Last edited:
Top