Creating a Pressure-Fed Liquid Fueled Sounding Rocket

Luka Peradze

Reaction score
Hello! My name is Luka Peradze and i am a rocketry enthusiast. I have some experience in creating rockets in that i have created 4 solid fueled rockets. I am attempting to make a liquid fueled sounding rocket, which will be pressure fed. I have thought of using Kerosene and the fuel, and liquid oxygen as the oxidizer, however i can change these. I have run into some trouble while designing the Rocket. I will have two tanks inside the rocket one for the fuel and the other of oxidizer. In order to force these into the combustion chamber i was thinking of using compressed gas to force them into the combustion chamber. My issue is that i have a few ideas, but was looking if others had simpler more practical methods of creating the pressure system. I would greatly appreciate if you could help me.

Sincerely,

Luka Peradze

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Hello,

First, do you have any experience with metallurgy, plumbing and pumps ? Because you're going to need all that.

Liquid Oxygen is extremely hazardous. It is very corrosive and any spill is devastating on organic tissues. It has to be stored at -180°C. Also, any spark will ignite the vapors and can potentially feed a very nasty flash-fire.

Robert H. Goddard first experiments are probably the place to start anyways. However, know that his first rocket "which was later dubbed "Nell", rose just 41 feet during a 2.5-second flight that ended 184 feet away in a cabbage field". So solid-fueled rockets will certainly perform better at an amateur scale.

What you might also try is a two-staged solid-fueled rocket. That would be a nice challenge already.

Dantassii

HUMONGOUS IMS shipbuilder
Reaction score