Project Carl Sagan Space Center (Banaba Island)

Loru

Retired Staff Member
Retired Staff
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
3,731
Reaction score
6
Points
36
Location
Warsaw
Hi

Many of you may have seen early pics of new base I'm developing.
Time has come to make it offcial.

Carl Sagan Space Center is an island base located on [ame="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Banaba_Island"]Banaba Island[/ame].

It's located close to the equator so would be easier to perform GEO/interplanetary missions. It may serve also as backup landing site between SRC Polygon and Jarvis Space Center.

Here is actual overview so you can grasp main idea.
the_plan.jpg


More details later.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,996
Reaction score
1,678
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
Looks nice, maybe a bit flat. At least some wave breakers might make sense ahead of the coast line, especially at the port.

The taxiway looks a bit too close to the runway, also you have not enough room there for letting one vehicle wait there while the runway is occupied.

And there is no centrifuge. Also, some forest would be nice, if you no longer allow strip mining there.
 

Loru

Retired Staff Member
Retired Staff
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
3,731
Reaction score
6
Points
36
Location
Warsaw
Looks nice, maybe a bit flat. At least some wave breakers might make sense ahead of the coast line, especially at the port.

It's still in developement - I'm planning to use do similar wavebreakers as in AIA Docks. As for the flatness I may add some small hills when I'm fininshed with rest.

The taxiway looks a bit too close to the runway, also you have not enough room there for letting one vehicle wait there while the runway is occupied.

Runway is 100 meters wide. There may be a bit tight but I think all nescessary traffic can fit.

And there is no centrifuge. Also, some forest would be nice, if you no longer allow strip mining there.

Centrifuge added to list.
As for the forest. I may add some if I find a way to make it FPS friendly. As you can see entire island has been replanted with grass and there is no more mining ops here.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,996
Reaction score
1,678
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
As for the forest. I may add some if I find a way to make it FPS friendly. As you can see entire island has been replanted with grass and there is no more mining ops here.

Need an idea for an FPS friendly dense tropical forest?
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,996
Reaction score
1,678
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
Sure. May be helpfull as hell.

Well, then (I assume still that you have played more games with 3D graphics than I did):

Make the inner regions of the forest solid and texture them like a dark tropical forest. create a few simple tree and bush textures and use them to create chaotic polygons at the boundaries of the solid forest part, to pretend some individual vegetation.

Since the forest would be pretty young, you can cheat with a pretty uniform appearance, like no large trees sticking out from above. A few rocks at the border could maybe make it look more natural. Palms would be pretty common for individual vegetation.
 

Jarod

Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2011
Messages
169
Reaction score
0
Points
16
I would use that space center, no wildlife refuge, so no concerns about eco-terrorism.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,996
Reaction score
1,678
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
I would use that space center, no wildlife refuge, so no concerns about eco-terrorism.

Less about eco-terrorism than about having a lot of advantages for cheap:


  • Sound suppression
  • Dust filtering
  • Air cooling
  • Tsunami protection
  • Erosion protection

Especially mangroves are great tsunami barriers, since there is little man-made that can subtract more energy from a tsunami and then regrow.
 

Loru

Retired Staff Member
Retired Staff
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
3,731
Reaction score
6
Points
36
Location
Warsaw
Hmm - forest patch proof of concept:

no idividual vegetation yet.

island013.jpg


Need lot more work but I think it will be possible to create.

---------- Post added at 06:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:44 PM ----------

... and here is first problem.

Even with alpha map grass mesh obstructs vessels and default base meshes (not custom ones) :

I can create every single straw but that would take ages and polycount would increase dramatically. I'll stay with some hills for now and few, well placed palm trees.

island014.jpg
 
Last edited:

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,996
Reaction score
1,678
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
Could you then maybe include such a GBAS ground station?

GBAS_Station_EDVE_technik_hires.jpg

(CC-BY DLR)
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,480
Reaction score
199
Points
138
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
the island is too small for a tropical forest. any such vegitation would certainly be removed by the ISA ground corp of flamethrower carriers. :lol:

I think some sort of ILS tower, Radar system or similar would look good.

250px-EDDV-ILS_09R_Glideslope.jpg
 

Loru

Retired Staff Member
Retired Staff
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
3,731
Reaction score
6
Points
36
Location
Warsaw
I think it won't be to hard to mesh - looks like those small reciviers are on tips of 500 meter by 500 meter right triangle.

As for ILS and radars they're already planned. Look up at overview.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,996
Reaction score
1,678
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
I think it won't be to hard to mesh - looks like those small reciviers are on tips of 500 meter by 500 meter right triangle.

The four reference receivers are usually spread out in a way that they cover all runways and their approaches well - one in the center and three around the perimeters of the base should do it.

This photograph is of the reference implementation at the local airport, had been used for validating the GBAS system. It replaces ILS from 2015 on, only ILS implementations for precision approach will remain until GBAS can also provide such accuracies.
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,842
Reaction score
93
Points
123
Location
Cape
I would suggest a fire department. ;)
 

Loru

Retired Staff Member
Retired Staff
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
3,731
Reaction score
6
Points
36
Location
Warsaw
Donamy said:
I would suggest a fire depaertment.

Nice idea.But I will need a proper fire truck. ! I made few years ago isn't good enough IMO.
truck06.jpg
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,996
Reaction score
1,678
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
And with airport fire trucks! Damn, that would be fun to make a DLL for.

---------- Post added at 06:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:29 PM ----------

Loru: maybe use this one as reference, this is the latest Rosenbauer Panther

Panther_8x8_action_15x10.jpg


what you have wrong is mostly the suspension and tires, also your water cannon is far too large - and your engine has no coolers.
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,842
Reaction score
93
Points
123
Location
Cape
More fire and smoke. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,480
Reaction score
199
Points
138
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
oh and a helipad would be good
 
Top