Problem Can't access addons?

Max-Q

99 40
Addon Developer
Joined
Jul 5, 2021
Messages
407
Reaction score
567
Points
108
Location
Cislunar Space
Website
www.orbithangar.com
So recently I went to access the addons section of the forums and it just sat forever on the "Checking if site connection is secure" page. It keeps reloading this page over and over.
I tried another browser (Chrome) and it works fine. 5 second check as usual, then it goes through to the addons.
No matter what I tried with my usual browser, I couldn't make it work; I even uninstalled and reinstalled it.
I use AVG secure browser, and have never had a problem until about a week ago.
What could be causing this? I have no plugins or 3rd party addons installed, and cookies are allowed for OF.
 

IronRain

The One and Only (AFAIK)
Administrator
Moderator
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Messages
3,455
Reaction score
373
Points
123
Location
Utrecht
Website
www.spaceflightnewsapi.net
So recently I went to access the addons section of the forums and it just sat forever on the "Checking if site connection is secure" page. It keeps reloading this page over and over.
I tried another browser (Chrome) and it works fine. 5 second check as usual, then it goes through to the addons.
No matter what I tried with my usual browser, I couldn't make it work; I even uninstalled and reinstalled it.
I use AVG secure browser, and have never had a problem until about a week ago.
What could be causing this? I have no plugins or 3rd party addons installed, and cookies are allowed for OF.
Could you try to access the page in a private session with no plugins enabled?
 

trix

New member
Joined
Sep 12, 2022
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Location
North Pole
Try logging in to your Gmail/Google account if you have one. I have run into this infinite loop and I suspect it’s Cloudflare failing to pass its checks for some reason. Funnily Google’s tracking seems to fix it for me?
 

dbeachy1

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 14, 2008
Messages
9,163
Reaction score
1,496
Points
203
Location
VA
Website
alteaaerospace.com
Preferred Pronouns
He/Him
I'd suggest just accessing it using another browser, such as Chrome, Firefox, Edge, or Vivaldi, since you said Chrome works for you. It must either be a plugin in or some other unusual behavior in the Brave browser that is causing that. i.e., it could be that some recent Brave update is causing it.
 

IronRain

The One and Only (AFAIK)
Administrator
Moderator
News Reporter
Donator
Joined
Oct 11, 2009
Messages
3,455
Reaction score
373
Points
123
Location
Utrecht
Website
www.spaceflightnewsapi.net
I'd suggest just accessing it using another browser, such as Chrome, Firefox, Edge, or Vivaldi, since you said Chrome works for you. It must either be a plugin in or some other unusual behavior in the Brave browser that is causing that. i.e., it could be that some recent Brave update is causing it.
I would say for now*.
Google Login doesn't matter. From OF perspective, we're not forcing something Googley.
@Max-Q are you using Brave? I'm using Brave as well, latest updates, no issues. Are you familiar with the web inspector and the console?
 

Xyon

Puts the Fun in Dysfunctional
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Webmaster
GFX Staff
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Aug 9, 2009
Messages
6,870
Reaction score
668
Points
203
Location
10.0.0.1
Website
www.orbiter-radio.co.uk
Preferred Pronouns
she/her
AVG Secure Browser. https://www.avg.com/en-us/secure-browser#pc
It just started recently, within the last two weeks. I didn't change anything, including browser updates.
Always worked fine for me before. I tried everything, including a fresh install of AVG secure browser; no luck.
But have you tried using a different browser, of any description? It would help to isolate the problem, if it is just an issue affecting that browser, or some other issue.
 
Top