New Release Brighton Beach 2011 v1.0

rodion_herrera

Moonwatcher
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Muscat, Oman
Website
astronomicalsolutions.com

Here is Brighton Beach 2011. I'm using a YouSendIt link, because for some reason, I can't upload via my Orbithangar account (come to think of it, this has never worked for me)--this link will only last until Tuesday, November 29, 2011, so if anyone can download this zip (13+ mb) and upload it to OrbitHangar I'd be indebted :) Thanks!

http://www.yousendit.com/download/T2dlb2VPZDUzS29Pd3NUQw

Please report any issues or bugs with this addon, I'll try to address them as soon as I can--I'll be very busy this week so I might only be able to fix things by next week.

-RODION
 

Scruce

Ad astra per aspera
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
1,410
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I'll upload it for you.
 

Scruce

Ad astra per aspera
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
1,410
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Uploaded and waiting for approval.
 

rodion_herrera

Moonwatcher
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Muscat, Oman
Website
astronomicalsolutions.com
Uploaded and waiting for approval.

Thanks! I wished you tried it first before uploading LOL, just to be sure there are no last minute glitches. I also realized I may have included some unused meshes :( so the zipfile should actually be smaller, but then it didn't reach 20mb so not that hefty.

-RODION
 

ProAuroraX

Resident Insane Person
Addon Developer
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
153
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
In your mind... and in New York
I have tested this on a clean O2010P1 install. i keep getting an error everytime i load any scenario. here is the log

Code:
**** Orbiter.log
Build Aug 30 2010 [v.100830]
Timer precision: 3.07195e-007 sec
Found 0 joystick(s)
Devices enumerated: 4
Devices accepted: 3
==> RGB Emulation
==> Direct3D HAL
==> Direct3D HAL (Intel(R) G41 Express Chipset)
Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]

**** Creating simulation session
DirectDraw interface OK
Direct3D interface OK
Graphics: Viewport: Fullscreen 1280 x 1024 x 16
Graphics: Hardware T&L capability: No
Graphics: Z-buffer depth: 16 bit
Graphics: Active lights supported: -1
Loading 15382 records from star database
Module Sun.dll ............... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1e-006, Terms 554/6634
Module Mercury.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1e-005, Terms 167/7123
Module Venus.dll ............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module VenusAtm2006.dll ...... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1e-005, Terms 79/1710
Module Earth.dll ............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module EarthAtmJ71G.dll ...... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
Module Moon.dll .............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
ELP82: Precision 1e-005, Terms 116/829
Module Mars.dll .............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module MarsAtm2006.dll ....... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1e-005, Terms 405/6400
Module Phobos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Deimos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Galsat.dll ............ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Jupiter.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1624/3625
Module Io.dll ................ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Europa.dll ............ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Ganymede.dll .......... [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Callisto.dll .......... [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Satsat.dll ............ [Build 100215, API 100212]
Module Saturn.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Saturn: Precision 1e-008, Terms 6365/6365
Module Mimas.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Mimas: Terms 113
Module Enceladus.dll ......... [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Enceladus: Terms 33
Module Tethys.dll ............ [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Tethys: Terms 101
Module Dione.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Dione: Terms 59
Module Rhea.dll .............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Rhea: Terms 68
Module Titan.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Titan: Terms 100
Module Iapetus.dll ........... [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Iapetus: Terms 605
Module Uranus.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Uranus: Precision 1e-008, Terms 5269/5269
Module Miranda.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Ariel.dll ............. [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Umbriel.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Titania.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Oberon.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Neptune.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Neptune: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2024/2024
Finished initialising world
Module DeltaGlider.dll ....... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module LuaInline.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Finished initialising status
Finished initialising camera
Finished initialising panels
Finished setting up render state
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> WARNING: Obsolete API function used: oapiGetStationCount
At least one active module is accessing an obsolete interface function.
Addons which rely on obsolete functions may not be compatible with
future versions of Orbiter.
---------------------------------------------------------------
**** WARNING: Mesh not found: .\Meshes\brcrater.msh
**** WARNING: Mesh not found: .\Meshes\brcrater.msh
 

rodion_herrera

Moonwatcher
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Muscat, Oman
Website
astronomicalsolutions.com
That crater is found in this addon:

[ame="http://orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=4821"]A Different Brighton Beach Update[/ame]

I didn't package it because I didn't have time (and I lost my 'net connection about the same time that I was planning to email these people) to contact the people who released these meshes so I can integrate them into the package. Sorry for the inconvenience, but I also like to preserve some kind of add-on integrity by minimizing integration of addons and just point people where to find the prerequisites to the addon.

Other prerequisites are listed in the "Brighton Beach 2011 readme.txt" doc file, please refer to that, thanks!

-RODION
 

jgrillo2002

Conservative Pioneer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
737
Reaction score
6
Points
18
Location
New York State
Probably a patch might fix that
If you want Ill patch it up by including the missing mesh. Anyone know if this addon is up,loaded to OrbitHangar already?
 

Scruce

Ad astra per aspera
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
1,410
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Probably a patch might fix that
If you want Ill patch it up by including the missing mesh. Anyone know if this addon is up,loaded to OrbitHangar already?

No need, since it is mentioned as a needed addon in the Doc folder.
 

rodion_herrera

Moonwatcher
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Muscat, Oman
Website
astronomicalsolutions.com
No need, since it is mentioned as a needed addon in the Doc folder.

Yes, everything you need to follow to make it all work is in the Rodion's Brighton Beach 2011 README.TXT file, please read it before anything else!

Again, let me reiterate that I prefer not to package something into an addon pack unless I informed the original addon maker or packager(s) that I've packaged their addon (or parts thereof) in my own addon package.

Furthermore, this makes the zipfile size smaller and thus faster to download.

This should be an interesting screenshot... :D



...located on top of the main building! Takes some hovering skill (if using the jetpack, since it has no autohover) to um, examine the area :D

-RODION
 
Last edited:

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,947
Reaction score
139
Points
78
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
I guess this [ame="http://orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=5206"]Relaxation Dome[/ame] doesn't fit in the whole picture, compatibility-wise...or does it?
Is it "mergeable"?
 
Last edited:

rodion_herrera

Moonwatcher
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Muscat, Oman
Website
astronomicalsolutions.com
I guess this Relaxation Dome doesn't fit in the whole picture, compatibility-wise...or does it?
Is it "mergeable"?

The great thing about Orbiter base/scenery *.cfg files is that there's a scaling option for any mesh you want to include in the set. To add the Relaxation Dome, all you need is to open up the Dome's *.cfg, grabe the parameters, and paste it into a notepad window containing brighton.cfg. You can then tweak placement by changing scale values, or even try to fit it as a part of an existing structure. For example, you can get rid of my dome on top by deleting the section containing:

Code:
MESH
  FILE spec7
  SCALE 1.0 1.0 1.0
  ROT 330
  POS 0 158 0
  OWNMATERIAL
  SHADOW
  PRELOAD
END

...and replacing it with the Relaxation Dome's parameters, making sure you tweak properly to get proper scaling. You do need a lot of coordinate/tweaking to get it right, but it's mostly centered around 0,0,0 because that's the very center of the main building (note that POS 0 158 0 has 158 value for the Y-axis, because it's on top of the structure).

Hope this helps.

-RODION

---------- Post added at 01:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:20 AM ----------

ANNOUNCEMENT: The current link to this addon (in the first post) will cease to exist in about 12 hours from this post. I will try to re-upload it via YouSendIt, then update the link soon. The reason why it's still not on OH is because Vash is on vacation and he still has it on the validation queue (thanks to Scruce for the info), and thus it may take a while before it gets uploaded there.

-RODION
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,947
Reaction score
139
Points
78
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
Hi Rodion.
You're probably well aware of it and it's not properly a "bug", but (speaking of graphics) here it goes:



I've tried to draw a horizontal line. You can see that the "closing half" of the clamshell is going lower than 0 degrees, if you know what I mean.

Anyway :hail:
 
Last edited:

rodion_herrera

Moonwatcher
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Muscat, Oman
Website
astronomicalsolutions.com
Hi Rodion.
You're probably well aware of it and it's not properly a "bug", but (speaking of graphics) here it goes:



I've tried to draw a horizontal line. You can see that the "closing half" of the clamshell is going lower than 0 degrees, if you know what I mean.

Anyway :hail:

I actually never noticed that, thanks for pointing it out. I'll be releasing an update/fix soon. Here are the upcoming changes:

1) Optimized some of the larger meshes

2) Optional improvements to astronaut meshes for the XR2 and XR5 (I've decided to use my own female astronaut meshes and textures ;) )

3) The clamshell fix

4) (Any other suggestions/recommendations?)

BTW, it seems scruce's upload still hasn't been uploaded by Vash. Strange that some addons that were produced much later than my Brighton are now actually available for download. Oh well, I'll just release it again via YouSendIt.

-RODION
 

Scruce

Ad astra per aspera
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
1,410
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Strange that some addons that were produced much later than my Brighton are now actually available for download.

That's because approval is only needed for your first five addons, Pipcard, for example, has released more than five so is exempt from the rule.

1000th post! :)
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
2,947
Reaction score
139
Points
78
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
... 4) (Any other suggestions/recommendations?)...
I'd like to see the inner hills surrounding the base emerge from the ground a bit more gently and smoothly.

If you look at the base from above you see a square "patch" of hills, with the tower and the pads at the center.
The outer boundary of this "patch" (or mesh? maybe...I don't know) emerges nicely and smoothly, while the inner boundary is a kind of zig-zag harsh lines.

Just look at the screen in your first post here, right behind the solar panels array.
 

rodion_herrera

Moonwatcher
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Muscat, Oman
Website
astronomicalsolutions.com
That's because approval is only needed for your first five addons, Pipcard, for example, has released more than five so is exempt from the rule.

*slaps forehead* right I forgot about that. And Vash is still on vacation I guess. Thanks for the explanation, scruce!

I'd like to see the inner hills surrounding the base emerge from the ground a bit more gently and smoothly.

If you look at the base from above you see a square "patch" of hills, with the tower and the pads at the center.
The outer boundary of this "patch" (or mesh? maybe...I don't know) emerges nicely and smoothly, while the inner boundary is a kind of zig-zag harsh lines.

Just look at the screen in your first post here, right behind the solar panels array.

Hmm, I actually edited the alpha of the crater texture to do exactly that--this means the edited texture for that addon didn't make the zip. Will include it in the update, thanks!

-RODION
 

Interceptor

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 28, 2008
Messages
2,684
Reaction score
41
Points
63
Location
Michigan,Florida
Just,an idea Rodion,but is there a away you could animate the fuel hoses to make it look like it's connecting,-disconnecting to a landed ship on the pads?That would look very cool.Thanks
 

rodion_herrera

Moonwatcher
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 4, 2007
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Muscat, Oman
Website
astronomicalsolutions.com
Just,an idea Rodion,but is there a away you could animate the fuel hoses to make it look like it's connecting,-disconnecting to a landed ship on the pads?That would look very cool.Thanks

Yes, that's possible, but it would be tricky to do it for ALL kinds of ships--the tricky part isn't with the X and Y axis (I can always direct scaling toward the center of the pad, but that would also mean landing precision--you really have to land the ship in the very center of the pad, so that the anim sequence would look good), but the Z (height) axis, because the distance from the pad surface to the belly of ships will vary. Since I'm using spacecraft3.dll, this process is of course (like the clamshell cover) manually operated, so I could just add 3 animation cycle stops (i.e. low, mid, high) while pressing say, SHIFT-INS. I'll first try one for the DG or XR2. Will give updates to this idea, and thanks for the idea Interceptor!

-RODION
 
Top