New Release Boca Chica base and surface tiles

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,331
Reaction score
236
Points
63
Location
Code 347
https://www.orbithangar.com/showAddon.php?id=5c32a896-277f-4343-9c91-35e33747e5b7
Hi-res (level 16-19) surface tiles for Boca Chica base area with proposed SpaceX base layout.
Base area .flt elevation flattening file for D3D9 Graphics Client.
BocaChica and BocaChica_LZ2 surface base .cfg files and associated buildings meshes.
Surface tiles and .flt file by 4throck, base .cfg and meshes by BrianJ
bc_tn1.jpg
(same as the surface tiles and base in previous "SpaceX Starship WIP" version)
 

jacquesmomo

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 14, 2008
Messages
414
Reaction score
82
Points
28
Location
FRANCE
Website
francophone.dansteph.com
Great !!! I will test your base soon.

Could you explain to me the * "flt" file ?
the different parameters?

thank you in advance

Jacques
 

BrianJ

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
1,331
Reaction score
236
Points
63
Location
Code 347
Hi Jacques :)
the .flt file was made by 4throck, so he understands it better than me!
But if you look at this post by Face, maybe it can help:
Also, I think you need the correct version of D3D9 client to use it.
 

jacquesmomo

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 14, 2008
Messages
414
Reaction score
82
Points
28
Location
FRANCE
Website
francophone.dansteph.com
Hi Brian :cheers:

Thank you for the link !

I had not seen this discussion.

I am going to study this : may be I will need this for my future add-on (currently in slow progress) all the airports of French Guyana.
(French Guyana is not a flat country.)... :unsure:
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,214
Reaction score
474
Points
123
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
@jacquesmomo The .flt file is simple.

Code:
Ellipse 7 -97.1512010 25.9944460 1000 1000 0 20

It will draw a flat Ellipse, with an Altitude of 7meters above sea level, at Coordinates -97.1512010 25.9944460, with a Radius of 1000meters.
(let's ignore the other parameters for now)

For Guyana you only need to change altitude and coordinates.
You should define one ellipse per pad. You can have multiple flat areas on the same file, one per line.

It's also possible to define rectangles instead of ellipses. But start with ellipses, it's easier.
 

jacquesmomo

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 14, 2008
Messages
414
Reaction score
82
Points
28
Location
FRANCE
Website
francophone.dansteph.com
Thank you 4throck. I'll try "ellipse" :)

Does the "D3D9ClientR4.11-forOrbiter2016(r1355)" version take this into account, or should I install the latest version? (D3D9ClientR4.14-forOrbiter2016(r1380)

:salute::cheers:
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,214
Reaction score
474
Points
123
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
I think you already know this, but because terrain flattening is relatively new, I'll repeat it.

You can have multiple flat areas on the same file, one per line.
You can have multiple .flt files for each planet.
.flt files are read automatically from the textures folder when Orbiter loads, independent from scenarios.
 
Top