Programming Question Beautiful User Interface

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Hi all,

while away from Orbiter coding I've been involved quite deeply in web design coding and had quite a lot of fun in setting up user interfaces with custom controls there. Now I'm back to orbiter and when I have to deal with visual studio dialogs and commands... well they are really ugly...

So I studied a lot and went also through OrbConnect by Kamaz (which is an excellent addon), finally creating my "orbiter server" which broadcasts anything I want and I can manage through webpages from browsers.

Now, I have to finish the dialog of the Space Network Plugin and then I have many other projects in mind which involves use of windows and dialogs (i.e. I want to split the MS2015 developer mode dialog from the core module), and my options are:
1) just keep using the ugly windows defaults
2) try to make it better with winapis (but this seems quite a uphill way)
3) try to learn and use somehow the Chromium Embedded Framework (but I don't know if it's feasible in Orbiter)
4) Forget the dialog, just use web pages and my orbiter server, so users will be able (and have to...) use the plugin from the browser, not within the sim...

options 2 and 3 seems quite unrealistic, so it's basically 1 against 4. If I was sure that users will use the browser without any issue I'd chose that, but I am afraid that situations like for example the true full screen mode and the fact that the focused window will keep changing between browser and orbiter will keep users away from using it... what are your ideas about this topic?

thanks in advance
Fred

Face

Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Reaction score
Now, I have to finish the dialog of the Space Network Plugin and then I have many other projects in mind which involves use of windows and dialogs (i.e. I want to split the MS2015 developer mode dialog from the core module), and my options are: