Gaming Balsa Model Flight Simulator

HarvesteR

Reaction score
Hi,

So, as of today I can talk about the game I've been working on for the last two years or so. I don't know if there is a lot of overlap with the Orbiter community, but I think of OF as a home base of sorts on the internets, so I think it deserves a thread of its own here.

It's called Balsa Model Flight Simulator.

Balsa Model Flight Sim | Announcement Trailer

Balsa is a model flight simulator where you can design and fly your own scale aircraft, then take them into missions, including combat (with paintball weaponry).

The game was built for multiplayer from the start, and it supports up to 16 pilots flying together in MP.

DdNlJKh.png

Balsa also features a fully featured Vehicle Editor, which shouldn't be unfamiliar to you if you've played KSP. The Balsa editor however was built from the ground up, and features many additional features, including painting and decal tools.

D58fPup.png

Vehicles in Balsa are assembled from parts, as in KSP. This time however, parts have many new features, like internal attachment spaces (featuring an x-ray style interior view you can use during construction), morphing wings and fuselages, and an entirely new visual resource flow system that you can tweak as well.

hFb0y0h.png

Balsa also features its own characters, or rather, Action Figures. You can place figures aboard your vehicles, which enables you to see through their, erm, eyes :rolleyes: for an in-cockpit FPV perspective.

There is also a fully-featured Mission Editor in Balsa, which will be available in game. It lets you set up missions of your own using a modular system of interconnected components, which allow creating gameplay logic without the need for scripting.