Tutorial A Newbie's Guide to a 20 step round-trip to the moon.

insanity

Blastronaut
Donator
Reaction score
I just started playing around with Orbiter and I must say that the learning curve is quite steep and is a fairly intimidating simulation when you think about the vast scope and the ability to explore it freely. I watched the tutorial video of the moon flight and was able to replicate what I saw (after a few tries), but the vast array of MFDs and addons made it quite daunting to take that experience and apply it to efficient spaceflight beyond the moon. Over the last week or so I've decided to learn how to do a return flight with a few different tools and after completing a few successful returns (complete with deadstick landings) I'll offer any fellow noobs some of what I have learned by way of tutorial. I will assume the reader has a basic understanding of concepts like inclination, delta-v, adjusting the altitudes of orbits, relativity, and gravity (if not, there are wonderful resources on the web and understanding these things are essential to understanding the language of Orbiter).

MFDS/Addons:
Dan Steph's DGIV- a total workhorse and great learning craft. Also a lot of fun to fly
IMFD- A great tool for planning an efficent journey
Launch MFD- Will calculate launch headings and windows to launch into alignment
Aerobrake MFD- Will assist you in atmospheric reentry by graphically illustrating your landing path.

Step 1: Run the DGIV config program and make sure that you have default fuel and a fair supply of oxygen (I usually prefer a month for the moon)

Step 2:Start any of the DGIV scenarios or edit a scenario using any date/time and location you want (make sure you have the DGIV). When you enter the cockpit load the DGIV settings using the lower panel and then open the canopy to use the Earth's oxygen.