OHM 2001 A Space Odyssey V2.0

OrbitHangar

Addon Comments
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
3,835
Reaction score
4
Points
0

Author: cmoon55

2001: A Space Odyssey v2.0 Dec 19th 2010.  By: Chris Moon.

Meshes and Textures based on the original work of the following authors & artists:
Erik Anderson aka Sputnik, Alain Hosking aka 80MilesHigh, Wolfgang Schwarz (Nautilus), Computerrex, Dave Bartles, Mauro Biolo, Michael Evans, Max Grueter, Abraham Katase, kultch, Chris Moon, Michael Powell, Sputnik, Dan Steph, tblaxland, B.J. West, & Vinka.

This has been Tested on a laptop with 1G RAM and 1.73 and GHz Processor running Windows XP. Also Tested on higher performance computers running Vista.

Testing Configurations: WARNING: Orbspotlight module add-on from Computerrex is NOT compatable with Orbiter 2010 local light sources, so turn off one or the other.

Successfully Tested against:
High Resolution textures: EarthL11/14, MarsL11, MoonL11, JupiterL8, IoL8, EuropaL8
 
Orulex Core and collisions from Artlav, (great for the trip to tycho)

Tested with all Orbiter 2010 functions and pre-installed modules (EXCEPT LOCAL LIGHT SOURCES)
 
Installation:
 
REQUIRED for full use of all scenarios
 
1. Install ONLY Orbspotlight from computerrex's Add-on pack.
2. Install Attitude MFD V3.2
3. Install Universal Cargo Deck Version 4
4. Install UCGO Version 2 by Danstef.
5. Install Spacecraft3 by Vinka

Recommended for added enjoyment:

Install Orbiter Sound 3.5 by DanStef
Install Orulex Core & Collision with Lunar heightmaps

PLEASE READ THE USER MANUAL INCLUDED FOR FULL OPERATIONAL DIRECTIONS

 


DOWNLOAD
 

Axel

Drive Technician
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
239
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Ok i installed all the needed addons (without Orulex,thats to buggy)and tested it, in a copy of my huge orbiter-installation. It seems to be run well now, all scenarios did load at first time. And the other orbiter addon scenarios does work too at time!

If there occur any problems i tell you! Thanks for the moment, it seems that it was really the split name-bug.
 

BenSisko

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
24
Points
18
Great add on! With Orulex activated I get an error though on shutdown with the following log. Are two textures missing?
Code:
**** Orbiter.log
Build Aug 30 2010 [v.100830]
Timer precision: 2.79365e-007 sec
Found 0 joystick(s)
Devices enumerated: 6
Devices accepted: 5
==> RGB Emulation
==> Direct3D HAL
==> Direct3D T&L HAL
==> Direct3D HAL (NVIDIA GeForce Go 7950 GTX)
==> Direct3D T&L HAL (NVIDIA GeForce Go 7950 GTX)
Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module CustomMFD.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module OrbiterSound.dll ...... [Build ******, API 060425]
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> WARNING: Obsolete API function used: oapiRegisterMFDMode
At least one active module is accessing an obsolete interface function.
Addons which rely on obsolete functions may not be compatible with
future versions of Orbiter.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Module ScnEditor.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module Framerate.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module ExtMFD.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module transx.dll ............ [Build 100824, API 100823]
Module AttitudeMFD.dll ....... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Collision-orulex.dll .. [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Orulex-core.dll ....... [Build ******, API 060425]

**** Creating simulation session
DirectDraw interface OK
Direct3D interface OK
Graphics: Viewport: Fullscreen 1440 x 900 x 32
Graphics: Hardware T&L capability: Yes
Graphics: Z-buffer depth: 32 bit
Graphics: Stencil buffer depth: 8 bit
Graphics: Active lights supported: 8
Loading 8816 records from star database
Module Sun.dll ............... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1e-006, Terms 554/6634
Module Mercury.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1e-005, Terms 167/7123
Module Venus.dll ............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module VenusAtm2006.dll ...... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1e-005, Terms 79/1710
Module Earth.dll ............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module EarthAtmJ71G.dll ...... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
Module Moon.dll .............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
ELP82: Precision 1e-005, Terms 116/829
Module Mars.dll .............. [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module MarsAtm2006.dll ....... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1e-005, Terms 405/6400
Module Phobos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Deimos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Galsat.dll ............ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Jupiter.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1624/3625
Module Io.dll ................ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Europa.dll ............ [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Ganymede.dll .......... [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Callisto.dll .......... [Build 100217, API 100215]
Module Satsat.dll ............ [Build 100215, API 100212]
Module Saturn.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Saturn: Precision 1e-006, Terms 2904/6365
Module Mimas.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Mimas: Terms 113
Module Enceladus.dll ......... [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Enceladus: Terms 33
Module Tethys.dll ............ [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Tethys: Terms 101
Module Dione.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Dione: Terms 59
Module Rhea.dll .............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Rhea: Terms 68
Module Titan.dll ............. [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Titan: Terms 100
Module Iapetus.dll ........... [Build 100215, API 100212]
SATSAT Iapetus: Terms 605
Module Uranus.dll ............ [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Uranus: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1827/5269
Module Miranda.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Ariel.dll ............. [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Umbriel.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Titania.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Oberon.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
Module Neptune.dll ........... [Build 100830, API 100830]
VSOP87(B) Neptune: Precision 1e-006, Terms 391/2024
Finished initialising world
Module spacecraft3.dll ....... [Build ******, API 050206]
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> WARNING: Obsolete API function used: VESSEL::SetBankMomentScale
At least one active module is accessing an obsolete interface function.
Addons which rely on obsolete functions may not be compatible with
future versions of Orbiter.
---------------------------------------------------------------
Finished initialising status
Finished initialising camera
Finished initialising panels
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> ERROR: Missing texture: orulex\orangesoil.dds
>>> [TextureManager::AcquireTexture | .\Texture.cpp | 750]
---------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------
>>> ERROR: Missing texture: orulex\tree.dds
>>> [TextureManager::AcquireTexture | .\Texture.cpp | 750]
---------------------------------------------------------------
**** WARNING: Mesh not found: .\Meshes\.msh
**** WARNING: Mesh not found: .\Meshes\.msh
Finished setting up render state
 
Last edited:

BenSisko

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
24
Points
18
Chris,
Is there a readme on the launch profile from KSC to intercept Station 5 in the Orion. I thought I saw a description in one of your earlier versions. Any chance you could add the Pan Am logo to the Orion like in the movie?
 

cmoon55

New member
Joined
Jan 30, 2010
Messages
40
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Vancouver BC
Hi Ben,

After I re-edited the weight values to the Orion, Aries, Discovery etc to more realistic ones, that previous profile would be way-wrong for the current values. I think I could play with it a few times and make some notes on how to successfully intercept the station. I did it a few times by the seat of my pants to prove to myself it could be done. But it dosen't have a huge margin for error. I've waited til the station is approaching west Florida, then use full thrust to get off the ground, then throddle back to about half, full, trim up, and climb, baby climb, to reach the rarified upper atmosphere to reduce hull heating, then use a nose up pitch of 10 to 20 degrees, basically use a very high nose pitch up to hold altitude about 45 to 50km as she accelerates to near orbital velocity 7.8 km/sec. once close throddle way back and use RCS in liner to make fine adjustments as she assends to orbit. Be sure you had alligned your ground track to the station's track. This will happen over the east Atlantic near the african coast, simply bank left with full trim to bring your ground track in line. The Station will have passed you, but as you pick up speed and as you will want to achieve an orbit about 100 to 50 km lower, your lower and faster orbit will bring you close to meet the station in about one orbit or so depending on how you've tweeked it. I actually enjoy having to do these flights several times to figure out trial by error the best way to achieve, like how some people really love puzzels.


I do have the jpg texture for the logo. When I kit-bashed the Orion mesh I played with the logo, but was still very new to UV mapping so got frustrated / overwhelmed and moved on. I'll add that to the V3.0 to do list Thanks.

PS I perfer using combination of number pad and joystick inputs and kill rot to hold attitude.
 
Last edited:

BenSisko

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
24
Points
18
You have been quite prolific! Great stuff. I've been trying the intercept from your launch conditions. The g-loading would be high but this works every time. I'm able to get to the station with ~30k fuel left.

Code:
[B][U][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]Orion III Space Plane[/FONT][/SIZE][/U][/B]
 
[B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]The Orion family of launch vehicles is capable of single stage to orbit runway or catapult launch. From Cape Canaveral, the departure profile for intercept of Station V is as follows:[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]

[LIST]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]Apply full nose up trim prior to launch. Deactivate RCS[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]Apply full thrust[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]Apply full up elevon above 150 KPH. Spacecraft will “unstick” at ≈ 185 KPH[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]At rotation, pitch up to 20◦. Raise landing gear[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]Turn to a departure heading between 90◦ – 95◦. Do not exceed 70◦ bank[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]Roll out on departure heading below 15 Km altitude[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]Maintain a VS of > 400 < 650 m/s[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]Above 60 Km altitude activate RCS [/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]Allow pitch to decrease. Activate autopilot HorsLvl when pitch < 3◦[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]At ≈ 6800 m/s throttle back to ¼ thrust[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][B][SIZE=3][FONT=Times New Roman]Use Orbit MFD to determine MECO with a ApA of ≈ 529 Km[/FONT][/SIZE][/B]
[*][FONT=Times New Roman][SIZE=3][B]Use Orbit, Align, & Synchronize MFD’s as needed to intercept Station V[/B][/SIZE][/FONT]
[/LIST]

I can imagine you'd be pretty beat after all the work you've put in on Aliens, 2001, & 2010. When you have the time, add the Orion RCS, animate the control surfaces, add the PanAm heraldry, & possibly put a passenger compartment with just Floyd in a seat!


BTW, have you seen this? I think the Orion's gear would have to be longer in order to allow rotation and avoid ground contact with the tail antennae:
http://www.scifiairshow.com/ships-orion.html

Happy New Year,
Ben
 
Last edited:

DrJohn

New member
Joined
Jan 31, 2011
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi Guys,

Having used Orbiter 2006 some years ago, I have just downloaded and run Orbiter 2010 on Windows 7 All is well!

I next installed the 2001 A Space Odyssey v2.0 (which looks awesome!) but have been disapointed in that ship objects etc are not rendered. There has been the occasional post elsewhere about this issue, but no clear resoultion, so I thought I'd try here (hope that's OK?). For example, in the very first scenario (Orion III liftoff for station V) all that I can see on the runway are 4 red lights - the rest of the model not being rendered.

I have since reinstalled Orbiter 2006 and added the World of 2001 add-on and this works fine!

Is there a solution to the problem with v2.0? Am I doing something wrong? (Incidently, I am having the same trouble with the Alien (revisited) add-on?!)

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

---------- Post added at 04:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:39 AM ----------

OK, sorted it - I installed 2010 The Year We Make Contact and found the same problem, so something in common -one look at the log revealed it was the Spacecraft3 module! All is well now!

Thank you for these wonderful add-ons!
 

BenSisko

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
24
Points
18
Chris,
After your rest any plans to animate the RCS and control surfaces on the Orion III and the RCS on the Ares 1b? Don't forget the Pan Am heraldry on the Orion :yes:
 

SpacemanSpiff

New member
Joined
Feb 21, 2011
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi Guys,

Having used Orbiter 2006 some years ago, I have just downloaded and run Orbiter 2010 on Windows 7 All is well!

I next installed the 2001 A Space Odyssey v2.0 (which looks awesome!) but have been disapointed in that ship objects etc are not rendered. There has been the occasional post elsewhere about this issue, but no clear resoultion, so I thought I'd try here (hope that's OK?). For example, in the very first scenario (Orion III liftoff for station V) all that I can see on the runway are 4 red lights - the rest of the model not being rendered.

I have since reinstalled Orbiter 2006 and added the World of 2001 add-on and this works fine!

Is there a solution to the problem with v2.0? Am I doing something wrong? (Incidently, I am having the same trouble with the Alien (revisited) add-on?!)

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

---------- Post added at 04:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:39 AM ----------

OK, sorted it - I installed 2010 The Year We Make Contact and found the same problem, so something in common -one look at the log revealed it was the Spacecraft3 module! All is well now!

Thank you for these wonderful add-ons!

DrJohn.... I have the same problem... but you never said what it was that you did to CORRECT the problem. I see an error concerning the Spacecraft3 module as well... but, what does one do to fix the issue?

Thanks!

SMS


EDIT

Went to Vinka's page to get Spacecraft3.
Chris, please add this link to required add-ons:

http://users.swing.be/vinka/

Also, in your manual, you credit B.J. West for the Space Station V model. This is incorrect. The only modeler for that object is Michael Powell. Please correct.
 
Last edited:

fort

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
6
Points
38
All the .dll and .cfg ( it is not question here of the specific .dll dedicated to/coming with... an addon in particular )... that are necessary for the 2006P1 release of Orbiter.


aircraft.dll 48 Ko dated 15/03/2004
[ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=347"]AircraftDLL[/ame]
Stage.dll 48 Ko dated 05/10/2006 ( for 2006 )
spacecraft.dll 92 Ko dated 30/12/2003
spacecraft2.dll 120Ko dated 06/07/2005
spacecraft3.dll 148Ko dated 12/10/2006
multistage.dll 120 Ko dated 09/01/2004
multistage2.dll 132Ko dated 06/07/2005

aircraft.cfg
ClassName = CDEAircraft
Module = Aircraft

stage.cfg
ClassName = stage
Module = stage

spacecraft.cfg
ClassName = Spacecraft
Module = Spacecraft

spacecraft2.cfg
ClassName = Spacecraft2
Module = Spacecraft2

spacecraft3.cfg
ClassName = Spacecraft3
Module = Spacecraft3

multistage.cfg
ClassName = Multistage
Module = Multistage

multistage2.cfg
ClassName = Multistage2
Module = Multistage2

http://users.swing.be/vinka/

To install in this order:

Basic
http://users.swing.be/vinka/base_package_040110.zip
Full with examples
http://users.swing.be/vinka/spacecraft_050721.zip
Full with examples
http://users.swing.be/vinka/multistage_050721.zip
Full with examples
http://users.swing.be/vinka/spacecraft3_060302.zip
Remplacement dll
http://users.swing.be/vinka/Stage_2006-P1.zip
Remplacement dll
http://users.swing.be/vinka/spacecraft3_2006-P1.zip

EDIT ( 28/04/2011 )

Or and probably that stage dll made for the 2010 release ( overwriting the previous )
http://orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?t=16167

stage.dll 56 ko dated 09/06/2010

Or that one made for the 2010 P1 release ( that i suppose rétrocompatible with the 2010 release; overwriting the previous ):
http://orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?t=16800
[ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=4661"]Stage.dll for Orbiter 2010[/ame]

stage.dll 56ko dated 09/09/2010

( Vinka released - 12/07/2010 - on the French forum, only for testing, betas of multistage2.dll and stage.dll ). There is no news about since.
 
Last edited:

BenSisko

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
24
Points
18
Chris,
After your rest any plans to animate the RCS and control surfaces on the Orion III and the RCS on the Ares 1b? Don't forget the Pan Am heraldry on the Orion :yes::please:
 

BenSisko

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 18, 2008
Messages
399
Reaction score
24
Points
18
Chris,
Are you going to complete this add-on by animating the RCS and control surfaces on the Orion III and the RCS on the Ares 1b and placing the Pan Am heraldry on the Orion? :huh:
 

izacy

New member
Joined
Nov 23, 2010
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Rendering Problem

Hi Guys,

Having used Orbiter 2006 some years ago, I have just downloaded and run Orbiter 2010 on Windows 7 All is well!

I next installed the 2001 A Space Odyssey v2.0 (which looks awesome!) but have been disapointed in that ship objects etc are not rendered. There has been the occasional post elsewhere about this issue, but no clear resoultion, so I thought I'd try here (hope that's OK?). For example, in the very first scenario (Orion III liftoff for station V) all that I can see on the runway are 4 red lights - the rest of the model not being rendered.

I have since reinstalled Orbiter 2006 and added the World of 2001 add-on and this works fine!

Is there a solution to the problem with v2.0? Am I doing something wrong? (Incidently, I am having the same trouble with the Alien (revisited) add-on?!)

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

---------- Post added at 04:34 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:39 AM ----------

OK, sorted it - I installed 2010 The Year We Make Contact and found the same problem, so something in common -one look at the log revealed it was the Spacecraft3 module! All is well now!

Thank you for these wonderful add-ons!

I have the same problem, and I reinstalled spacecraft3 but it had no effect, can anyone solve this? I had a previous version of World of 2001 in orbiter 2006 and it worked fine, but now I've updated to 2010 and it doesn't work.
I'm running Vista and orbiter 2010 P1 with spacecraft3 and its patch.

:idk:
 

Traunmark5

New member
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Can not read the documentation for this addon

I do not have microsoft word. the doc. file can not be read any other way?

Perhaps another format that will allow for reading in txt?
 

Richy

VTOL craft Pilot
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
322
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
ZG
Website
www.richmans-maps.ch.vu
Just shift-rightclick the file, and choose "open with". Then select NOTEPAD and the most of it should be readable.
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Addon List Curator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
35,993
Reaction score
475
Points
173
Location
Langendernbach
Or get OpenOffice/LibreOffice. It can open doc files as well.
 

fort

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
6
Points
38
Hello cmoon,

I followed at the end of 2010 the developpement of your 2001 addon through the first release ( 12 20 2010 ) that i downloaded; later through the 1.3 version ( beta 12 12 2010 ) and finally the 2.0's one that i downloaded twice too. Without nevertheless enough time to test. But i remember, with the first version those problems concerning conflits between a moon LV11 tex and Tycho base ( and maybe Clavius base ? ).

I'm in a moment of reorganization/cleaning of the Orbiter's folder on my hard drive.

In the meantime i've launched with success the 2.0 Version that i well like as i like the one ( delled ) made in 2008.

Trying to made a composit between the first (*), the 1.3, and the 2.0 vers, i see that in the Tycho base meshe and the Clavius base meshe of the first version, there is a dds - lunartexture.dds - that was not in the first release ( and the reference is deleted in the newest ).

I do not remember how Orbiter today ( the situation has changed since the 2005 version ) react to the abscence of a dds called by a meshe. I do not remember exactly if that abscence was in the comments, here, for the 1.1 version ( that one completed with some ummu meshes following the first ) and later but could that explain some CTD ( or pseudo conflicts with the Moon level 11 tex ) and solved with that mysterious lunartexture.dds ?

Especially if that texture was interesting/nice.

(*) I still want to try the two version to see the effects of the changes of thrusters and ISP values.

good day and thank you.
 

tinfoilchef

New member
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I've just gotten this for Orbiter 2010 p1 and I've found that if I'm running the D3D9 client (R8, Jan 2013) the ships do not render at all, have no fuel and do not respond to controls other than MFD settings.

Running without D3D9 they work and render correctly. Is there some way that I can use them with the D3D9 client?
 
Top