Orbiter-Forum  

Go Back   Orbiter-Forum > Far Side of the Moon > Astronomy & the Night Sky
Register Blogs Orbinauts List Social Groups FAQ Projects Mark Forums Read

Astronomy & the Night Sky Astronomy news & discussions, Astrophotography, Telescopes, Star Charts, & more. Galaxies, Stars, Planets & Moons, discuss it all here!

Old 04-17-2008, 01:25 PM   #1
YL3GDY
Orbinaut

Photos Astrophoto thread (your own photos please)

Hi all.

Some of recent discussions encouraged me to create a thread, where astrophotographs (real, of course!) can be posted.

So, you are welcome to post here your shots of the sky!
YL3GDY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 01:29 PM   #2
agentgonzo
Grounded since '09

I've just started astrophotography. Here's my first image of the moon (bit blurry, am trying to sort it out as I'm still learning)

Celestron Ultima 2000 (8", f/10)
Canon 350D at prime focus.
agentgonzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
Old 04-17-2008, 01:41 PM   #3
Artlav
Aperiodic traveller

Some shots of the recent lunar eclipse, thru telescope, and simple camera:
http://orbides.1gb.ru/ecl-080221-gal.php

Artlav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 03:08 PM   #4
YL3GDY
Orbinaut

Artlav, which equipment were you using?
Old 04-17-2008, 03:20 PM   #5
YL3GDY
Orbinaut

And here is my shot. I have used Nikon D40 camera with Nikkor 55-200mm lens. Exposure: 1/200 sec., f/5.6, ISO-200. The photo was taken in Riga, in 1st December 2007.

I have a bit photoshopped this image a bit...
Attached Thumbnails
DSC_0496.jpg  
Old 04-17-2008, 03:52 PM   #6
silent_protagonist
Orbinaut

Well, they're not nearly as good as what's already been posted, but here are two of mine:

This is the only half-way decent image I've been able to get just holding my camera to the eyepiece of my scope. (I ought to try this again, now that I have some eyepieces with eye-cups; should make things a bit easier.)

17P/Holmes taken with just my camera.